Website feedback

Reviews of Rethymno Youth Hostel Crete Hostel

Tobazi 41, Rethymno, Crete, Greece

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 84%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 95%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Reception hours: 08.00 - 13.00h and 17.00 - 23.00h. During summer time though our reception stays open between 08.00 - 24.00 h.

Cancellation or modifications of a booking are accepted only via e-mail at least 72 hours prior to arrival date.

Please note, we can not provide documentation for Visa purposes.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Crete?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 84%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 95%

Value 96%

Showing 41-50 of 73 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and very helpful as soon as we arrived. It was quiet when we went, but there were a lot of people that seemed to have been there before. It is so welcoming that people keep on coming back! I would also. Also, great value for the cost. It was cozy and felt comfortable.

Disliked: At first I didn't like that the bathrooms are in a separate building from the dorms, but it was actually fine in the end.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: everything!!!great location in the old town.great atmosphere specially thanks to super manager sasa .great place to make new friends and long stays!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to downtown and sort of close to the beach.

Disliked: The manager was extremely rude and demanding. He scolded me and my friend several times upon arrival. I got so frustrated with his outbursts and rudeness I got extremely angry. Instead of filling out his guest book with my passport information, he made me fill it out, even though it was all in Greek and then yelled at me twice for doing it wrong. I asked him why he didn't fill it out and he told me no hostel managers fill in the guest book. Then he demanded my money. I told him not until he treated me and my friend better, he was not getting my money and we would go back to Heraklion. Already it took two hours just to get there. I am not sure if he treats everyone this way but it ruined my whole day and I will NEVER go back there again. I have never been treated with so much disrespect at what I thought would be a laid back environment. GUESTS BEWARE!


The property's response is

The 2 boys arrived and demanded a private room with air conditioning. Unfortunately that was not possible because we don't offer private rooms (they booked in an 8 bed dorm). Then they searched for another place on the Internet refusing to pay for the night while the manager waited for their decision. Reception book has large capital letters in English on top of each column explaining what information is needed (name , passport number). We respect all our quests hoping they will do the same .

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The courtyard, all of the unique social spaces, the staff.

Disliked: The fact that I was awoken every morning to an old woman staring at me through my window from her balcony a room away. Note: no curtains in hostel. Also, place shuts down at midnight.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap beers, central location, Sacha is awesome and brightens your day

Disliked: The rooms are really hot over the summer - they have fans but if you're on a bottom bunk there's no relief from the heat. You're locked out of the kitchen between 3pm - 5pm which isn't a problem as long as you haven't locked something you need in the safe or are wanting to make a late lunch/grab a cold drink.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is awesome. We came during July and it was so hot but there are bunks on the terrace that Sasa suggested for us so that we would be more comfortable. They were awesome, so breezy and perfect to wake up to the daylight. The overall atmosphere of Rethymno Youth Hostel is great and it is so close to everything in Rethymno. Must stay!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, atmosphere

Disliked: beds could be larger ;-)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Sasha (Alexander) is a legend who will make you feel at home. The hostel is only 10mins to the bus station and is literally inside the old town... You just need to turn the corner and your amongst some great restaurants and shops. It's a really lively place with lots of tourists and a great atmosphere. I'd highly recommend taking the bus 10mins to Gerani, a tiny and perfect crystal clear beach.

Disliked: Having the toilets so far away takes some getting used to but it's not the end of the world. Some of the rooms are quite small however for what you pay and the location- it was good enough for me!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love this place,Sasa is a great manager,very helpful and the hostel has a nice easygoing atmosphere and is in a great location,i"ll be back!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Alexander (Sasha)was great

Disliked: Too many smokers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability