Website feedback

Reviews of Athens International Youth Hostel - Victor Hugo Athens Hostel

16 Victor Hugo, Athens, Greece

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 70%

Safety 70%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 62%

Location 70%

Safety 70%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

Showing 41-50 of 91 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff who are willing to help you. It was great that they offered ferry tickets to islands from hostel!

Disliked: Poor common area, not easiest place to make friends.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your time to review our property!

our hostel is full of young travellers that are willing to meet other travellerts in the lounge area!!!

Come and see!

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price and helpful staff.

Disliked: you have to have eyes at theback of your head in this neighbourhood always feels unsafe syringes on the ground etc. Beds very old and uncomfortable. No character or atmosphere very regimented just pump them in and pump them out no charm. Kitchen not well equipped and even though beds are cheap bere i feel there are better options for an extra euro or two.


The property's response is

We would like to thank the traveller that spend time to review our property. However we are the chepest hostel in the area and a traveler has to pay much more than 1 euro to find a hotel in the area. Our beds are not old as we have renew them in most of the rooms last year. As for teh atmosphere we are a very busy hostel where always travellers meet up and chat with other travelllers to our lounge areas!

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very seedy neighbourhood, not a nice area. Old and dingy, beds are super uncomfortable. They will offload guests when full into another hostel that is even worse. The kitchen is gross. Food left in a pot in a cupboard that was full of maggots. Tiny showers, wifi drops in and out. Don't stay here there are much nicer places closer to the acropolis and centre of town.


The property's response is

We would like to inform our other travellers that the traveller had changed the plans and was demanding from the hostel to give him back the money otherwise he would give a veyr bad review to the hostel. Our wi-fi is working perfect, our showers are normal and oru kitchen is well- equipped.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I felt safe enough and the room had a balcony and a nice view.

Disliked: the area is ghetto. actually all of athens is really ghetto.. just don't go to athens unless you're renting a car.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for spending time to view our property. We would like to inform our other travellers thhat our area is not a ghetto and no Athens is not a ghetto. Come and explore on your own and youo will see!!!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostels in a city where I wouldn't expect much from....it's not just the tourist attractions the whole city is In ruins

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to the metro stop, had a lounge and a bar.

Disliked: Terrible wifi, the location was not very good, staff was very indifferent and distant. Not the best, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The room, the bathroom, communal kitchen and use of free internet. Close to train station

Disliked: A little far from Acropolis area

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it has kichen(though not very clean, but cookable), private bathroom for dorm rooms, wifi is ok in the room, air con, balcany... that's really a lot for the money !!!

Disliked: this place is not very clean, the kitchen has a bowl of super smelly water inside one of the cupboard attracting a lot of fly... if the staff could clean the kitchen everyday... it would be ok... but they dont ...

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They were really nice, and although we reserved 6 bed room, because it was cheaper, we got to stay in a 4 bed room for the same price, since they didn't have the other one free.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your good words!!!!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast was served on site for a great price- just had to wait for a bit, especially the morning the school group was also there.I also stayed in the top floor/2 person private bath/junior suite, and there was an awesome roof-top balcony right outside our room!

Disliked: Despite the no-smoking sign in the main area, I saw as many as 3 staff members smoking at the desk, inside the office!Also, the school group (mentioned above) left all their baggage right ontop of the other baggage when they left. I had to dig for 15 minutes or so, through 3-4 layers of luggage, to find my stuff in the luggage room!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for spending time to review our property. Regading the luggage room it is a room that all guests can use for free and some times the room gets full. But it is a service that custimers use for free. Regarding the smoking our hostel is non-smoking and there are signs all over. Actually none of our staff smokes and especially in front of the desk.

Check Availability