Website feedback

Reviews of Lotte - The Backpackers Heidelberg Hostel

Burgweg 3, Heidelberg, Germany

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Cancellation: A confirmed booking can be cancelled only in writing (email) without cost up to 24 hours in advance of your arrival (3 pm the day before). This booking will considered to be cancelled only when you have received our cancellation confirmation email. If you need to cancel your booking less than 24 hours in advance and we cannot sell your bed then we will have to take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

No Show: If you don't appear without cancelling, then we will take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

Our Reception is open from 8.00 until 13.00 and then from 14.00 until 22.00.
Check-out until 11 am, check-in from 15.00
If you need to arrive after 22.00, then you must let us know in advance, we don’t want you to have to sleep under the “Old Bridge” because our door is locked!

When checking in you will receive a key, so you have around-the-clock access to the hostel.
We kindly ask you to pay in cash or with card (EC, Master, Visa) when checking-in.
Price includes bed linen, any time tea, coffee, cereal, milk, a private locker in the dorms (no liability), Wi-Fi, a fully equipped communal kitchen, a cosy living room with a computer for free use! We have no TV, nowhere, on purpose! All rooms got shared bathrooms. You can rent a towel for 1 € (included if you booked a double room).

Not included are extra cleaning costs (50 – 100€) if the room was left in an extraordinary mess.

At Check-in you will be given keys that will give you 24 hour access to the hostel and your room.
If you lose the keys then you will be asked to pay 50 euro for replacement keys.

In case you booked a dormitory: We expect you to respect your room mates and allow them space, peace and tranquillity! We allow only one person per bed and no strangers in the hostel!
Due to organisational reasons we may switch you from a 5- to 6-bed-dorm and vice versa.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 41-50 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location & hospitality

Disliked: I found no fault

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: was very clean and comfortably

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lotte is situated in the absolute best location for enjoying the best that The Old Town section of Heidelberg has to offer. It is by far the cleanest and most characterful hostel I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: The size of the towels are a bit small but they were free so really there's nothing to complain about!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

ooops... maybe you got one of the small towels. that happens when we run out of the big ones. sorry!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: The double rooms are definitely good value for money, bathrooms are clean and new, hostel is extremely environmental friendly

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Facilities is very useful and almost perfect. Especially free milk and cereal is very very good!

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, common room, free breakfast, kitchen, free wifi, free computer - everything was amazing!! I've stayed in at least thirty hostels in my life and this was definitely in the top five. Carmen, the woman who runs the hostel on her own, acts more like a friendly host than a person with a business. She sent me to fantastic coffee shops, breweries, and sights that the usual tourist would never come across. The hostel is literally as close to the famous castle as you can get, and it's right next to the longest shopping street in Europe. The kitchen was great - huge, free coffee, tea and cereal at all hours, and you don't have to do your own dishes. The common room was made for chilling with other backpackers - I met lots of cool people there. The dorm rooms were huge, very clean, and came with lockers. Wifi was free and worked throughout the hostel, and there was a free, updated desktop computer as well. I highly recommend Lotte!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very central location, only 5 mins uphill to the castle and right in the centre of the old town. Beautiful old building, very nice spacious dorm, lovely kitchen and living room, very communal feel in the hostel. Carmen, the owner, is lovely and very helpful. All day cereal, tea and coffee was great! The entire hostel was spotlessly clean. Plenty of showers and toilets.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive but definitely the worth it, maybe a bigger breakfast would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yes, we´re working on that. Cereals, tea, milk and coffee are there all the time - so we don´t count that as breakfast. We think about a cooperation with a nearby café.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Conveniently located and friendly.

Disliked: A more thorough description of what is available/how things work would help. Maybe having this information written down and available would be helpful. It is a very good hostel though.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly atmosphere. Very good location. Perfect

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: best hostel i have ever lived ever!!!!perfect on everything!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability