Website feedback

Reviews of Lotte - The Backpackers Heidelberg Hostel

Burgweg 3, Heidelberg, Germany

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Cancellation: A confirmed booking can be cancelled only in writing (email) without cost up to 24 hours in advance of your arrival (3 pm the day before). This booking will considered to be cancelled only when you have received our cancellation confirmation email. If you need to cancel your booking less than 24 hours in advance and we cannot sell your bed then we will have to take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

No Show: If you don't appear without cancelling, then we will take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

Our Reception is open from 8.00 until 13.00 and then from 14.00 until 22.00.
Check-out until 11 am, check-in from 15.00
If you need to arrive after 22.00, then you must let us know in advance, we don’t want you to have to sleep under the “Old Bridge” because our door is locked!

When checking in you will receive a key, so you have around-the-clock access to the hostel.
We kindly ask you to pay in cash or with card (EC, Master, Visa) when checking-in.
Price includes bed linen, any time tea, coffee, cereal, milk, a private locker in the dorms (no liability), Wi-Fi, a fully equipped communal kitchen, a cosy living room with a computer for free use! We have no TV, nowhere, on purpose! All rooms got shared bathrooms. You can rent a towel for 1 € (included if you booked a double room).

Not included are extra cleaning costs (50 – 100€) if the room was left in an extraordinary mess.

At Check-in you will be given keys that will give you 24 hour access to the hostel and your room.
If you lose the keys then you will be asked to pay 50 euro for replacement keys.

In case you booked a dormitory: We expect you to respect your room mates and allow them space, peace and tranquillity! We allow only one person per bed and no strangers in the hostel!
Due to organisational reasons we may switch you from a 5- to 6-bed-dorm and vice versa.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 31-40 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff are absolutely wonderful. A cut above so many other places. It was a slow night so they were kind enough to arrange the bookings so that I had my own room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: 有一个公共厨房,厨房隔壁是一个公共书房,在这里比较适合认识新朋友

Disliked: 没有

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and Character. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. The location is absolutely perfect, it's right around the corner (2 min walk) from the main square. Also, the perfect location to start finding your way up to Heidelberg Castle. The hostel is so charming and has a very homey feel. Carmen (who runs the place) is so friendly and so are the rest of the staff. I will definitely recommend this lovely hostel to all our friends.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very cute. Great location. Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Only issue was not having a bathroom on the bottom floor where my room was. Hostel is small though so going up one flight of steps isn't really a big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything is well designed and equipped for guests and from guest's perspective, very nice and warm!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. it was in a fantatic location. The facilities were good

Disliked: The lack of dryer was annoying but not a big deal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry for not providing a dryer. That´s our ecological philosophy though and we don´t intend to change that. A dryer is one of the worst energy wasters you can have. For travellers it´s a bit annoying, though. I can understand that.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: All okay!

Disliked: No!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, near to the castle. Free coffee & tea at anytime

Disliked: nil

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really great hostel. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Great location, open the front door and you're on the walkway up to the castle. Easy access to any other part of the old town.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very flexible, we booked the wrong date and they were really kind in helping us. Also the property is clean and decent. It is a real hostel.

Disliked: No complaints, it was up to our expectations.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability