Website feedback

Reviews of Lotte - The Backpackers Heidelberg Hostel

Burgweg 3, Heidelberg, Germany

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Cancellation: A confirmed booking can be cancelled only in writing (email) without cost up to 24 hours in advance of your arrival (3 pm the day before). This booking will considered to be cancelled only when you have received our cancellation confirmation email. If you need to cancel your booking less than 24 hours in advance and we cannot sell your bed then we will have to take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

No Show: If you don't appear without cancelling, then we will take payment from you for the first night of your booking.

Our Reception is open from 8.00 until 13.00 and then from 14.00 until 22.00.
Check-out until 11 am, check-in from 15.00
If you need to arrive after 22.00, then you must let us know in advance, we don’t want you to have to sleep under the “Old Bridge” because our door is locked!

When checking in you will receive a key, so you have around-the-clock access to the hostel.
We kindly ask you to pay in cash or with card (EC, Master, Visa) when checking-in.
Price includes bed linen, any time tea, coffee, cereal, milk, a private locker in the dorms (no liability), Wi-Fi, a fully equipped communal kitchen, a cosy living room with a computer for free use! We have no TV, nowhere, on purpose! All rooms got shared bathrooms. You can rent a towel for 1 € (included if you booked a double room).

Not included are extra cleaning costs (50 – 100€) if the room was left in an extraordinary mess.

At Check-in you will be given keys that will give you 24 hour access to the hostel and your room.
If you lose the keys then you will be asked to pay 50 euro for replacement keys.

In case you booked a dormitory: We expect you to respect your room mates and allow them space, peace and tranquillity! We allow only one person per bed and no strangers in the hostel!
Due to organisational reasons we may switch you from a 5- to 6-bed-dorm and vice versa.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Heidelberg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 21-30 of 116 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: The staff are so friendly and helpful. Lina worked incredibly hard to make sure our stay was a good one. The common room had a good atmosphere and there were always interesting people to meet. The hostel is in a fantastic location in the old town. Kitchen is fully equipped in case you want to cook. Breakfast cereals and milk are for free.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best hostel I have stayed

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is spotless clean, the kitchen with everything one might need (without even needing to wash the dishes, because they take care of that also!), great location (just by the main shopping street), and Ms. Schmidt is very friendly and helpful. I wouldn´t stay anywhere else in Heidelberg.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a truly amazing hostel. The staff are some of the nicest people I have ever met, it is very clean, the bathrooms are amazing, the kitchen is well-equipped, the common room is amazing, comfortable beds with light and power point, free lockers, great location - really just brilliant all round.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean. Kitchen was fully stocked with every cooking utensil you would ever need. Rooms were large and clean and even had personal lights in each bed. Bathroom was exceptionally clean and new. The showers were wonderfully large and there was even provided a wooden platform to stand upon. This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing. Truly impressive property.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in old town, not near the main station but an easy bus ride away. Staff were very friendly and didn't mind when we checked in a little late. The 6 bed dorm was spacious. Large guest kitchen where they wash up dishes for you.

Disliked: Shower temperature is constantly changing between hot and cold, and it leaked water onto the floor resulting in my clothes getting wet. The floor could have used a mop, I felt like it was a bit dirty. Wooden floor in dorm room is really squeaky, not good for a light sleeper.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your infos. Shower temperature changes usually only then, when everyone´s taking a shower at the same time, sorry for the inconvenience. The floor in the batthroom is natural stone, it´s cleaned every day but it looks "rough" anyway. The wooden floors, yes, they do squeak. A matter of the old house, which is on the one hand not good for light sleepers but gives the house it´s charming atmosphere on the other hand. You can buy earplugs at reception, if you like.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. The facilities on offer were amazing unlimited coffee and breakfast cereals, a fully stocked kitchen including dishwasher! My husband and I shared a private double room. It was a beautiful room nothing like I have ever seen in a hostel before.

Disliked: We did not dislike anything.I would advise though if like us you were travelling in a VW Transporter with roof box, parking is limited as the closest car parks are multistorey. However the owner was able to tell us where to park for free with a little walk!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: They were super friendly and helpful. The living room is a nice place to hang out, and they have tea and cereals all day in the kitchen. Plus it's SUPER close to the castle and old town.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really like this hostel, staff is very friendly. I enjoy it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Although quite empty and quiet when I stayed, this could very easily be a very sociable place in summer. Ideal location at the foot of the steps to the castle and easy to get to from the railway station by bus (remember it's free on arrival and departure if your Bahn ticket says +city on it)It was very well planned out, and every detail thought of. The living room is very homely with retro furniture, piles of books and old family photos on the wall. The rest is modern and the showers even had enough hooks and places to put everything! Plus there is cereal, tea and coffee and milk left out all day to use which is a bonus. The kitchen was well equipped and a dishwasher meant you didn't even need to clean your dishes.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability