Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers St. Pauli Hamburg Hostel

Bernstorffstrasse 98, Hamburg, Germany

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Sleeping without bedlinen, using own bedlinen or sleeping bags is not allowed. Please understand that sleeping bags will be stored separately and handed back at departure

We don't host stag / bachelor parties! Please note before you book. If guests are drunk at arrival, we don't check them in!

Groups of max. 3 people accepted. We will cancel your booking and charge you a late cancellation
fee, in case you make several small bookings to get around this rule.

At check in all guests need to have either a personal ID, passport or driver’s license. No other documents accepted.

Guests under 18, travelling alone must show a letter of agreement, copies of parent’s passports and a contact telephone number for the case of emergency.

If you have a delay – call us, please. Otherwise we will cancel the booking at least 1 hour after your estimated arrival time and charge you as a no show.

Please note that we have a cancellation policy of 24 hrs before arrival date

Check in from 3 pm
Check out time 12 noon, if you are oversleeping, we charge 5 € every 30 Minutes (We think 12 is fair, so be fair to us and give us the chance to clean properly till the next check in. THANK YOU!)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


10 Sep 2019

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is organized and secure

Disliked: Cleaning

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: location.

Disliked: No Wi-Fi / it simply didn't work No Electricity / only 2 working sockets for 8 people No light / though each bed had a lamp, none worked. Bed linen HAD to be rented but were nlg included in price. No sleeping bags allowed--


The property's response is

Dear guest, we regret that the WiFi did not work for the night you stayed with us. We had issues with our provider and it was off our hands to solve it shortly. Extra power sockets are available at the bar - just ask (and there are more than 2 sockets in the room) The fact that bedlinen is not included is stated on Hostelbookers. Please understand that we cannot allow sleeping bags due to hygienic reasons (bugs).

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Tolles Zimmer, super freundliches Personal und die perfekte Lage

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked:

Disliked: kinda dirty

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: About a 10 minute walk from underground station, and about the same to Reeperbahn area - which is a great place to go out, if a little cheesy and sleazy still fun! Managed to meet some people in the room and kitchen area, also has a bar which I had a few drinks in. Rooms all good with lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Loved the stay. will stay in the same hostel if i resist Hamburg again.

Disliked: the friendliness of the hostel staff, neat beds and bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: This hostel is alright. The rooms are clean and the kitchen is big. A bit difficult to meet other travellers because the only common area they have is the kitchen. They did organize aa BBQ when I was there: bring your own food to put on the grill. Overall, I would recommend this hostel. The location is good, its secure and friendly straff.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful, location is in a quiet street but not too far away from all the bars

Disliked: the personal lights of the beds did not work, kitchen/communal room is not very inviting (no daylight because it's underground)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice location

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of this property. It has an adjoining cafe which has some local beers at a very reasonable price, as well as coffee and food. The staff were absolutely wonderful. They really went above and beyond to make our stay as wonderful as it could have been. It's definitely a hostel that attracts a lot of travelers in their 20s and it's easy to meet people.

Disliked: The location is a bit weird. The area it is in seemed pretty safe but if you venture far enough to the right or left (especially at night), it can seem pretty sketch. The Reeperbahn is just a few blocks away, which can be a bit of a mixed blessing. On one hand, you are close to a lot of bars and nightlife but it is still a red-light district and can get a bit seedy at night. If you go to the right of the hostel, there is a more student oriented area which, again, we stumbled upon at night and there did seem to be a lot of squatters in that area. The hostel is isolated from any of the sketchy areas so this isn't a critique on the property itself, or a "dislike" necessarily. It's mostly just a reminder to excersize caution as you would in any big city.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability