Website feedback

Reviews of Backpackers St. Pauli Hamburg Hostel

Bernstorffstrasse 98, Hamburg, Germany

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Sleeping without bedlinen, using own bedlinen or sleeping bags is not allowed. Please understand that sleeping bags will be stored separately and handed back at departure

We don't host stag / bachelor parties! Please note before you book. If guests are drunk at arrival, we don't check them in!

Groups of max. 3 people accepted. We will cancel your booking and charge you a late cancellation
fee, in case you make several small bookings to get around this rule.

At check in all guests need to have either a personal ID, passport or driver’s license. No other documents accepted.

Guests under 18, travelling alone must show a letter of agreement, copies of parent’s passports and a contact telephone number for the case of emergency.

If you have a delay – call us, please. Otherwise we will cancel the booking at least 1 hour after your estimated arrival time and charge you as a no show.

Please note that we have a cancellation policy of 24 hrs before arrival date

Check in from 3 pm
Check out time 12 noon, if you are oversleeping, we charge 5 € every 30 Minutes (We think 12 is fair, so be fair to us and give us the chance to clean properly till the next check in. THANK YOU!)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hamburg?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 81%

Location 88%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 28 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was ok, but I would recommend to walk with someone at night because it is quite a quiet street.Staff was friendly

Disliked: In the hostel description they should just clearly state the price of bed linen after the sentence they write about not using sleeping bags.There is a kitchen, but it's not too clean and theres only two stoves so you essentially have to line up and wait if you want to cook.Wifi didn't work in the dorm, but I have a brand new tablet that usually never has a problem picking up signals

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment. It is mentioned on Hostelbookers page that bedlinen costs 2,50€. But i am happy to have the opportunity to state this here again. The kitchen is cleaned by housekeeping everyday at 11 a.m. After that the responsibility of cleanliness is to our guests which we concern as adult and social. There are repeaters on each floor. But if they gonna be unplugged because somebody in the rooms because of charging laptops etc. the receiving is of course is tricky...

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location is really good, a couple of blocks from the nightlife area, buses and subways, you can even walk from the train station, is not that far. The staff is really helpful and in a good mood. I recommend it without hesitating.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff is really friendly, the bedrooms are also comfortable and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Perfect for young people !

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were the friendliest I've come into contact with at hostels. They make a huge effort to make you comfortable and see to your needs. The rooms are extremely well sound isolated. The wifi throughout the hostel is really fast especially in the bedrooms. Stayed in a 8 bed dorm. Great matresses, a shelf and lamp and large lockers. Beds have enourmous head space which was a first for bunk beds. The location was excellent as well. This was one of the best hostels we've stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing location just south of great bars and just north of the reeperbahn. Chill, helpful staff. Very clean. Decent bar downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: close to the reeperbahn, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: breakfast not included

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Angenehme Atmosphäre und gut ausgestattete Zimmer. Bäder in den Zimmern fand ich praktisch, auch im 8er Zimmer. Die Lage ist klasse und trotzdem ruhig.

Disliked: Nichts

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Sehr hoher hygienischer Standart. Ausserdem ist die Bar/Bistro im EG und UG super.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability