Website feedback

Reviews of Max Hostel Bonn Hostel

Maxstrasse 7, Bonn, Germany

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 66%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 68%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Not Included
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bonn?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 66%

Location 83%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 68%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really liked all the staff. I met several of them and had some nice conversations with them and they were always very happy to help and give advice

Disliked: When the room was full it was very hot and quite difficult to sleep comfortably, but otherwise I had no problem

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Safe doors. Cosy common room. Liked the dance school within the entity.

Disliked: No ironing board available. The waterflow from the shower could last twice as long and still could be efficient.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Quiet part of town. Decent Basic facilities.

Disliked: None in particular, but travelers should be aware that there will not be any personnel most of the time at the front desk. When I stayed there was no need fire me to contract then. Also note the limited check-in window, between 4 and 8; you will also part extra for internet and linen.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location good

Disliked: Pay extra for wifi and linen, not many travellers so difficult to meet people as a single traveller.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I was aware that the reception was open only between 4pm and 8pm. My train was late, and I could not reach the hostel before 8pm. I called them and the staff was very helpful. They made the check-in for me, per telephone, as I gave my credit card number, and sent me the access code by email. I am very grateful to them.There was just an additional tax for late check-in charged as well. They didn´t told me about that. It would be nice to say, I would pay it without problems.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly!!

Disliked: Reception is not open 24 hours and if you don't have bedline you have to pay (these 2 informations I was aware before booking). In addition to paying for internet access is only given at the reception, it was impossible in the 1st floor bedroom. Hot water is supplied only at certain times, and in the bathroom there is a warning to men don't pee standing (?!?!?!?!!?). Staying in the hostel is ok, although in Germany, in general, the values are much higher than services provided.


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for the reply. Concerning the hot water there might be a small misunderstanding: we provide hot water 24h, of course. Due to ecological reasons the pump that brings the hot water to the showers is switched of during the night. So it might take up to one minute until the hot water reaches the showers then.
And, of course, there´s no "warning" to men don´t pee standing. We kindly ask male persons to sit in respect of the guests who wants to use the bathroom after them.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No air conditioning and WiFi has to be paid for, unless you buy a drink etc. This place is used by homeless people for long term accommodation which is paid for by the state. There were two in our dorm and they were coming and going all night! :(


The property's response is

Dear guest,
our hostel is NOT a place for homeless people paid by the state!We do have guests that might stay longer in search for an appartment (mostly students) since the housing situation here in Bonn is quite difficult.It is also right that the german state pays a certain time your appartment if you are unemployed, that´s part of our welfare state. But nobody pays us to house homelss persons. And in a dorm there might people come and go during the night. Please ask them to be quit.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was very clean, with nice size rooms and plenty of plug sockets. There were lockers for each bed, and the radiators had a temperature gauge you could alter. The bar/café area was really nice and welcoming.

Disliked: There was only one main light in the rooms, and it's always better if there's bedside lights if you're sharing rooms and other people are sleeping (although this wasn't an issue while I was there).There is no luggage storage since reception has restrictive opening hours, which can be inconvenient when you're travelling. There are luggage lockers at the train station though for €4.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thanks for the reply. We currently improve the light situation by installing reading lamps for each bed. Luggage can be stored in our garage during reception times (normally 8:00h - 13:00 and 16:00h - 20:00h). There might be different times during the off-season. Please ask at reception for an solution.

Check Availability