Website feedback

Reviews of Metropol Hostel Berlin Berlin Hostel

Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 83%

Safety 73%

Staff 75%

Value 65%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE WE HAVE A 72 HOURS CANCELLATION POLICY

Late cancellations and no shows will be charged for the first night stay

Check-In time is 15:00
Check-Out time is 10:00

Linen are charged one time only 4.00 EUR per stay in dorm rooms. Due to sanitary reasons, using your own sleeping bags is not permitted and the hostels linen has to be used.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Berlin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 83%

Safety 73%

Staff 75%

Value 65%

Showing 11-20 of 81 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Wifi is really really bad and no wifi at all on teh 4th floor.Bathrooms are not clena at all.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were clean and big! Breakfast was amazing!

Disliked: The Internet was rubbish. Continually dropping out! Very frustrating as we had a lot to get done via the net. Atmosphere was very quiet but we liked that.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Continental breakfast is really good! It is also right next to a metro station so location is very good and easy to find. The main sights are also within walking distance. The common room is nice and provides a good atmosphere to meet people. Staff are helpful and friendly. We had a great time here in Berlin and met some great people and I would recommend it for travellers

Disliked: No kitchen! No facilities to cook or eat anything so we had to eat out every day. The wifi is not great it only works in certain places in the common room and occasionally in dorm rooms. There are computers but you have to pay to use them. You also have to pay to use the table football game. Only one girls bathroom which got quite smelly at some times of day.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Next to a subway station. Breakfast. Nice staff.

Disliked: Although they're making an effort, this place is too big and busy to work well. Showers are busy, so even if they clean them, they're soon dirty again. The internet not always working and not in all rooms. No kitchen facilities. Coffee machine broken, mistakes at the reception, etc. etc. Very big, with many large groups of young ppl - noisy and NO atmosphere at all.Not that it's a bad place, but definitely would not stay there again.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: In my room some strange people were in fact living there permanently, behaving quite possessively. Staff explained to me that those were cases sent to them by the dptm. of social welfare - really bad move for a hostel..The so-called "ensuite bedroom" are in fact without separate bathrooms. Those were located outside the room on the aisle and were to be shared with several other rooms.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect - literally less than 5m from the metro stop. Beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The lockers were very large; I was able to easily fit my entire pack in one which I appreciated very much. I met some amazing people while staying at Metropol hostel in Berlin and though it wasn't the best hostel in the world I would definitely recommend it to others. Plus, who doesn't love free breakfast?

Disliked: The wifi access was terrible. I was not able to get wifi in my dorm and even in the lobby the wifi only worked about 50% of the time. The rooms were only cleaned every other day which was a problem because the showers got very dirty and they did not remove the old linens when new guest arrived on the day they didn't clean. The shower did not drain well. There were definitely flaws but they did not completely ruin the experience.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very spacious rooms with shower and bathroom in each dorm. Helpful staff and 24hr reception

Disliked: Dirty shower and insecure locker facilities

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a great spot as the metro is literally at the door step and takes you anywhere you need in minutes, rooms are big and spacious, bed are comfortable and it was cheap! Good kebab shop just below the hostel too!

Disliked: The wifi is a bit up and down but worked 80% of the time. The need air conditioning, as our entire stay was over 30 degrees so our room was very hot. Also they should play music in the common room at night, I think the atmosphere would be 100% better!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good Breakfast! Also, good location...near the U-Bahn but still within walking distance of most areas!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and breakfast.

Disliked: No atmosphere at all, surrounded by school children. Wi fi was awful, only worked when near reception and was constantly resetting itself. Staff were pretty unhelpful and the shower was freezing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability