Website feedback

Reviews of Open House Hostel Nice Hostel

6 Rue Docteur Jacques Guidoni, Nice, France

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 97%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Arrival: from 14.00 to 22.00 hours. For different time you a have to call or e-mail us for an appointment.

Since we run a small place, Victoria House reserve the right to cancel reservations for more than 6 people without refund of your deposit.
This policy applies to multiple booking under different names for the same group.

Please note, City taxes 0,75€

Age limit: 40 years.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nice?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 97%

Safety 80%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The location is good and the french girl who works here is very helpful, polite and friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen/comunal area is unhygienic and dominated by the argentinian girl who works here. She took a strong disliking to me because i happened to snore a bit during my stay! In fact she used her influence as staff to persuade the french manager to ask me to leave which i thought quite unfair and improper. I will make a formal complaint to the owner in due course. Other guests had various issues with athmosperics although mine was perhaps extreme!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


23 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good location good atmosphere nice is a great night out and also Franchesca was of great help and is a credit to your hostel :-)

Disliked: Bathrooms floors were always quite wet but hey ho it's a bathroom lol

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The attitude of staff is terrible. They act they, supposedly, paying you, not you to them... Premises in mess.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: However, the staff was very friendly, the kitchen was amazing and the atmospfere was good. I recommend it to all travellers who want to meet people and dont mind open doors of the rooms. Other rooms were okay.

Disliked: First I got a room where there was no free bed, but after some time things have sorted out and I got keys to another room for three people, which was very small. The bathroom was very small, I could barely turn around when I was inside. There were three beds in the room, I slept in the lowest one but I couldnt even sit right, there was not enough space, and there was just one chair in the room. It was very noisy from the street the whole night. The flour was dirty, even though I was the first one who came.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Great hostel, friendly people/staff, good atmosphere. Really enjoyed my time here, and in Nice. Always kept very clean and tidy, mostly quiet location on a side street.

Disliked: Did have a bit of an issue with my key not working initially, however was fine after learning the trick from another traveller - you need to push the key upwards while turning then it works every time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Social environment, a great overnight stop place.

Disliked: No air conditioning and no fan/window in the bathroom. Which means you get out of the shower not feeling much cleaner than you did when you got in. It's super sweaty in the summer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We have travelled to around 90 countries so far, so I feel qualified enough to say that this is a truly exceptional hostel, in every good way.It is one of the most welcoming places I have encountered, Val who works there does everything possible to make sure that you have a good time and he is one of the most caring and kind people I have ever met.Nice is expensive, so this is a really great value place; it is really central but it is down the narrowest possible side street, which means that cars never use it and it is therefore exceptionally quiet at night for such a location.The decor inside is nice, and there is free filter coffee on tap, with Val keen to answer any questions you have, which included everything from him printing maps to show me how to get to Nice football stadium, to checking bus and train timetables and museum opening hours. Nothing is too much trouble, Consequently I think this helps to make the guests really enjoy there stay here and I think it appeals to a crowd who want to enjoy their time here, but also probably have picked the quiet location because they don't want to be kept awake at 3 am by other guests partying - we found that once the kitchen closed at 10 pm until 9 am, the hostel was really quiet, and I think everyone got on so well that they wouldn't have wanted to disturb other people. Totally chilled out and friendly place.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked here - everything was brilliant.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Very hard to find, extremely poor signage if any.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, great wifi and cooking facilities and great place to meet people

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great location, very close to everything! Val is very involved with his guests which makes for a very social and easy environment. The cleaner was so so so welcoming when me and my cousin arrived, lovely lady!The kitchen was very well equipt (even though we didnt use it).

Disliked: The beds were very creaky and the bathroom was tiny. On our last day we were meant to be meeting Val back at the hostel at a certain time to collect our luggage for a flight. A girl (guest)...not Val arrived 30 mins late with the key for the luggage room - we were running to catch our flight due to this.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability