Website feedback

Reviews of Maravu Taveuni Lodge Taveuni Island Hostel

Naselesele, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taveuni Island?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Athmosphere and the great day trips!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms were well kept and the staff knowledgable and friendly. Always greeted me with a smile and a hello!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly stuff, great kawa-evenings, perfect place to relax and enjoy Fiji Lifestyle and culture!

Disliked: Beds in the big dorm are little bit wet and the mattress is not very comfortable! Shower and toilets are OK but not very clean!Food in the restaurant is a bit expensive and portions are not that big...

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Enjoyed the Free Wifi, simple free Breakfast, and Free Airport Transfers. Ping pong table in the main hall. Oceanfront Villa was spacious.

Disliked: If staying in one of the Oceanfront villas it is a bit of a walk to the Reception, and across a bridge that's quite uneven. The Villa had a nice Oceanfront view, however not all the lights worked, and that was before the power goes out (not unique in Fiji) but that's what the candles are for. Also cold showers.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and made such an effort to get everyone to feel included. The home cooked food was so tasty and large portion sizes mean you will never go hungry! They even adapted meals for special dietary requirements. There are plenty of activities available to do every day. It used to be a 5* resort before it went bankrupt so the setting and facilities are beautiful. Would definitely recommend everyone to stay here.

Disliked: It is in the process of being renewed after being closed for 7 years so not everything is in perfect condition but they are working hard at getting it back up to a good standard so I imagine in a month or two it will be even better than it is now.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good price. Friendly staff. Beautiful property. Swimming pool. Kava sessions. Walking distance from airport.

Disliked: A bit run down. It was built to be a top end resort 20 years ago and the resort went bankrupt. Consequently there are private cottages that are very nice but run down a bit. Note that there is only electricity for a few hours a day but this is to be expected in this area.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: lots of space if you have an own bure..great views

Disliked: the missing of the electricity can be a disadvantage, just candles or torches

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating


26 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly staff, great food and the private rooms are fantastic.

Disliked: They had just moved locations so things were still chaotic. There was extremely sporadic power and renovations were undergoing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is amazing here. They will treat you like family. Kava sessions are intimate and fun. Inform the staff of your needs and budget, and they will help you to find activities that fit your limitations. For example, there is a public bus that one can take to town or the waterfalls that is cheaper than hiring a taxi. The food is amazing! Breakfast is free! The lunch and/or dinner meal plan is expensive, though. If you are on a budget, the kitchen staff is more than happy to share the kitchen and their cooking utensils with you.The property is very open and relaxed. There are some bugs and mice, but they were not a problem for us as long as we kept food out of our room. The rooms generally aren't locked (you can lock the room if you leave for the day), but there are many people around all day to keep an eye on your stuff. I did not feel that my room was unsafe once for the 10 days I stayed.Be prepared for a different, authentic Fijian hostel, and you will be very pleased. I want to stress that the food is amazing and the people who work here want to help you enjoy their beautiful island. The hostel is a 30 minute walk to a beautiful beach (unfortunately there is no big beach on site). Just outside is a bus stop. There are world-class diving, snorkeling, and kayaking sites very close. The hammocks and deck chairs are comfortable if you would like to hang at the hostel and read a book.I can't wait to return!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is right at the ocean and the colors are great, surrounded by palm trees. The room had only 4 beds and not 6. I was able to stay there after checkout until I had to leave to get to the airport.

Disliked: The bathroom had a really bad small and it was hard to close the door. The fan in the room was broken. They said they would fix it the next day, but they didn't. I don't think that 24 F$ for the dinner they provided. The bunk beds they have are propably just for kids and are not supposed to be used by adults. They are very pricy when it comes to taking you around the island (there are no rental cars and most caps won't go by meter). I didn't need/received a key for the room, it was just open. But they lock the property at nighttime.


The property's response is

Bula vinaka and thanks for the feedback. We appreciate the complements and wish our sincere apologies for your less than perfect stay. Our little team is committed to offering our guests a wonderful experience, but in this case, we would like to assure you that we will be targeting improvements in the mentioned areas. Loloma and happy travels. The Tuvununu Tribe.

Check Availability