Website feedback

Reviews of Tropic of Capricorn Resort Nadi Hostel

11 Wasa Wasa Rd Newtown Nadi Fiji, Nadi, Fiji

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nadi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 83%

Staff 86%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating


09 Aug 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Cheap, good location, comfortable rooms

Disliked: Rooms weren't cleaned during stay, not much going on

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating


27 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice area. Close to bamboo backpacker for going for a beer but also quite for sleeping

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I loved the Fijian people who worked at the hostel. Always a smile on their faces, and happy to help you with anything you might need. The beach location was nice, some great hammocks and lounges to relax on during the day.

Disliked: Room was not as clean as I would have liked, shower was ice cold, breakfast was inconsistent even though I ordered the same thing every day, location is great for relaxing by the beach but not really close to anything else - though much of Fiji is that way.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Mama was friendly but could have been more helpful at times. There is not really any atmosphere, much more of an older crowd while I stayed here but its right next door to smugglers hostel which has a busy bar if that's more your thing. I was in the dorm room which was very clean and tidy with a bathroom. I felt I was just overcharged for my stay on Mana Island which I booked through this hostel....try elsewhere first. I would recommend staying here over smugglers as I felt the rooms were nicer and cheaper but use the facilities of the other bars along the beach.

Disliked: No atmosphere or bar. My pre-arranged pick up from the airport did not arrive, this was easily resolved after calling the hostel. No hot water, warm at best from 5-6pm on sunny days due to solar pannels. Expensive/overpriced excursions.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love the familiar atmosphere. The staff is so friendly and the Resort Is really clean and directly at the beach. That's amazing!

Disliked: It would be good if there would be lockers for articles of value.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Mama is the best host I've ever had! We got a big hug on arrival haha!The atmosphere is good there and attracts good people.Mamas burgers were some of the most delicious I've ever had.The communication prior to our stay was great and Mama was very helpful.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the property but is area wasn't somewhere I would recommend. It is very touristy but not the good type. Think Kuta/ Koh San Road type culture: over time, drunk teens being disrespectful to locals has seemed to take it's toll on the Fijians in that area. The kindest culture I've encountered was almost limited to Mama's in that area.The closest shopping centre is a 25 minute walk. The cost of meals was very high for Fiji and you're hard pressed to find Fijian dishes, mostly just pizza, pasta and burgers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The warmth & friendliness of Mama & her staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, and the location is excellent on the beach and next to other hotels so plenty of lively activities especially for backpackers.Bed was very comfortable, and the sound of the waves was very therapeutic for me at least.

Disliked: The rooms are pretty basic, there is a kettle & cups but no tea/coffee making items, also no soap in the bathroom or any other amenities.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The view of the beach from ocean view room, it made our stay acceptable! , all other views aaround were not as good

Disliked: We stayed seven days and can make a good judgement nowall reviews are true on other websites! ! Check them out! : good for backpackers of they take the ocean view! and you have to like animals! ( frogs dogs cats birds mozzys flys)All others are dirty and more like prison without a Window. The staff is making a good show for new ones: one time breakfast served, talking nicely amd have a chat. All other times they are lazy, doing nothing, chatting around eoth other staff and promise that they would bribg you to the airport whoch they don't do! You get a taxi and you have to pay.Our ocean view made our stay acceptable! Moreover ww weren't told about the local bus just about tours whoch we should book woth them or their own taxi driver. I rwally don't recommend it even though it's cheap guys!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at mamas. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was really good in the restaurant and Kele came to pick us up from the airport for free. We stayed for 3 nights in total, one when we first arrived and then we went to the Yasawa islands for 6 nights and stayed there for 2 on the way back. When we arrived the second time the room we had reserved was not available so we got a free upgrade to the seaview room which was lovely. The location is great, right on the beach. The price is very reasonable. The people are friendly, mama is hilarious! We had a great time! Would come back again next time without a doubt.

Disliked: No problems at all

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Mama is lovely and the pool is great for the money. Location on the beach.Spacious dorm and 2 bathrooms

Disliked: Other staff unfriendly. One had clearly taken my shirt from the laundry.... Went missing during first part of my stay then saw a member of staff wearing it later. Hoped it was a coincidence until she went into the kitchen as turned it inside out.

Check Availability