Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Tallinn, Estonia

Knight House 93%

1. Knight House

Hostel
Rüütli 18

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 99%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

81 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Knight House

23 Jul 2018 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

The staffs are very nice, the common area is nice to meet new people. The bed is quite comfortable. The location of the hostel is really good, situated in the old town.

would recommend this property

21 Sep 2017 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Lovely staff, great location, pancake breakfasts, free coffee and clean. I really nice place to stay in the heart of Tallinn

would recommend this property

Read all Knight House reviews
Tabinoya - Tallinn's Travellers House 92%

2. Tabinoya - Tallinn's Travellers House

Hostel
Nunne 1

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 88%

36 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tabinoya - Tallinn's Travellers House

27 Oct 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Amazingly comfortable mattress for a hostel. Great location, lovely staff, big area for breakfast. love that it is not a party hostel.

would recommend this property

11 Jan 2016 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

This hostel was great for our stay in Tallinn! The staff were so helpful and friendly - we were made to feel right at home, and invited to a staff dinner one evening, as we were the only guests staying there. The kitchen was fully equipped, breakfast was simple but filling each morning, and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. The location was perfect - everything was within walking distance.

would recommend this property

Read all Tabinoya - Tallinn's Travellers House reviews
Viru Backpackers 92%

3. Viru Backpackers

Hostel
Viru 5

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

58 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Viru Backpackers

29 Mar 2017 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Good location

would recommend this property

23 Sep 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife
Age Range: 41+

Comfortable and friendly

would recommend this property

Read all Viru Backpackers reviews
Old Town Alur Hostel 90%

4. Old Town Alur Hostel

Hostel
Lai 20/22 Tallinn

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

85 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old Town Alur Hostel

03 Sep 2019 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Room was at the end of a corridor, very quiet, clean bedding, modern just like the bathrooms, spacious and in sufficient number, Clean overall. Nice lounge area with lots of sofas. Staff is very helpful and 24/7 on track. I highly recommend this place, good price value!

would recommend this property

02 Sep 2018 57%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

Bunk beds were new and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff

Read all Old Town Alur Hostel reviews
Red Emperor Bar&Hostel 90%

5. Red Emperor Bar&Hostel

Hostel
Aia 10

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

215 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Red Emperor Bar&Hostel

13 Jul 2017 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

I really liked the atmosphere of this hostel. It kind of was like a big family.

would recommend this property

25 May 2017 49%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 31-40

Central location

Read all Red Emperor Bar&Hostel reviews
Tallinn Backpackers 88%

6. Tallinn Backpackers

Hostel
Olevimägi 11

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

114 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tallinn Backpackers

24 Aug 2017 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Super Central, clean, exceptional facilities, free breakfast, lots of activities, value for money

would recommend this property

28 Jul 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Close to everything, good common area, enough room. The staff were really helpful and generally very friendly, There were trips/activities that they could help you with. If you wanted to be by yourself that was good, if you wanted to meet people you could.

would recommend this property

Read all Tallinn Backpackers reviews
Fat Margaret's 86%

7. Fat Margaret's

Hostel
Pohja puiestee 27

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 91%

53 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fat Margaret's

11 Apr 2017 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Location, staff, value

would recommend this property

17 Dec 2016 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 41+

This is a great hostel on several floors. If your traffic was early, you can come here before the time cheking in and sleep on the couch. This is handy ! here is a sauna and a swimming pool with a jacuzzi !

would recommend this property

Read all Fat Margaret's reviews
City Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay 82%

8. City Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay

Hotel
Paldiski Mount 3

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 68%

Location 85%

Safety 93%

Staff 82%

Value 87%

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay

26 Jul 2015 63%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break

Perfectly functional room in a reasonably good location for the old town.

19 Sep 2014 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

Great value for your money, the room was very tidy and clean, the location was not a long walk away from the centre and close to Old Tallinn and the staff (who were in the main hotel, City Hotel Tallinn was in a separate building) were all extremely friendly and helpful. I was not expecting to get such a nice and clean room for such a cheap price. It wasn't luxurious but was definitely one of the best cheaper hotels I have ever visited. Bathroom was clean and fully working. Wifi was fast and worked well. There was closet space and drawers etc. which were helpful. It is quite a long way from the harbour so if you are arriving by boat like us I would definitely recommend taking a taxi. However the main train station is close by. As I mentioned before, the City Hotel Tallinn itself does not have any reception or staff around, they are situated in a separate main hotel building which is just a 1 minute walk from the hotel. You have to check in and collect your key card from there, but this wasn't really an issue. Our room had a pleasant view of a courtyard behind the hotel.

would recommend this property

Read all City Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay reviews
Academic Hostel 77%

9. Academic Hostel

Hostel
Akadeemia tee 11/1, 12611 Tallinn

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 74%

Location 54%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Academic Hostel

05 Sep 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Location

would recommend this property

12 Jun 2014 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Easy check in, helpful staff. Great to have one bathroom between 2 rooms. And one kitchen between 2 rooms. Check out the university cafeteria great food really cheap.

would recommend this property

Read all Academic Hostel reviews
Euphoria 77%

10. Euphoria

Hostel
Roosikrantsi 4

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 77%

Staff 80%

Value 77%

4 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Euphoria

01 Aug 2017 31%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 25-30

Not much apart from the location worst hostel I've stayed at for a long time

13 Jul 2017 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Large room, many bathrooms/showers, great location, the "hipster" look to the place

would recommend this property

Read all Euphoria reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tallinn?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Tallinn hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Tallinn. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Tallinn

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Tallinn. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!