Website feedback

Reviews of Newquay International Backpackers Newquay Hostel

69-73 Tower Road, Newquay, Cornwall, Newquay, England

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 74%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Microwave
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Important Information

-Phone for further availability
***Please note***
-Hostel closes 10pm - Only book if you can arrive during Reception Check-In Open Hours between 3-10pm. (Otherwise ask directly BEFORE booking if any other arrangements can be available which we cannot guarantee)
-We cannot accept anyone under 18.
-Door codes and keys are provided only after all persons of each booking are present to check-in with valid photo ID passport or drivers licence.
-Maximum group size 8. We do not accept Stagg parties or Hen Dos. For sports events please contact directly.
-Let us know 2 weeks in advance if you need to cancel, to enable us to resell beds. You can do this online. After this deposit will not be refundable and we can charge up to first night stay. Changes to numbers of people or nights must be asked 48hrs notice otherwise full payment is due.
-When booking please leave a contact number so we can contact you if there is any problem with your booking!

OPEN HOURS:
September - April: Monday- Thursday 3-10pm, Friday-Sunday 10am-10pm.
May - August: 10am-10pm daily

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newquay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 74%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

Showing 41-50 of 52 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The accomodation is in an ideal location near the fistral beach end of town 2mins to red lion pub and 5mins to main central nightlife. The people are really friendly and its a great laid back atmosphere. Suit Yonger travelers into surfing and partying. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Trying to rember the code for the front door at 5am after a night in Walk about club.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: we were in a refurbished room which was fine

Disliked: the kitchen was dirty and cluttered. No one appeared to clean up after themselves. You had to cue for the shower and toilet, which was also dirty and cluttered with wetsuits, coffee cups etc.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was nice, a lot like staying at a friend's. Surf atmosphere, friendly staff :)

Disliked: Occasional wait for the bathroom, as they were doing renovations.No locks on the dorm doors, but felt safe enough

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See Above

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good friendly laid back staff

Disliked: no locks on the doors of the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its reasonably central, the staff (when you can find them) are friendly, helpful and laid back. The board store and shower area is useful for surfers with their own gear.Although there were no locks on the door I felt that my stuff was pretty safe at the hostel, and they also gave me my own room as they were quite empty at the time, which was handy.

Disliked: I really think this hostel oversells itself. In all fairness it is a budget hostel and you get what you pay for, but there are a number of things that I just felt weren't quite as they'd been portrayed in the advert and by other reviewers, and that it probably would have been worth paying an extra few quid a night to go somewhere else.Whilst all the facilities they mention in the description are there, the hostel isn't particularly comfortable - the lights in the showers are turned off during the day, the sauna wasn't on when I was there, there's no hot water from the sink taps in the rooms at certain times, there are REALLY creaky beds and a number of things at the hostel just generally weren't well maintained (such as the big hole in the roof in the room I was in and the bathroom window which wouldn't shut).As for the social vibe that everyone's mentioned, I have to be honest and say that I didn't particularly feel it. In all fairness to the guys at the hostel it was out of season so it was quite empty and the staff and long termers were friendly enough.However, that was about the extent of it. The long termers monopolise the living room throughout the day, and the majority of people seem to be quite happy just staring at the TV for most of it.I'm sure in the summer things are probably better in the summer, but personally I wouldn't recommend letting the social side be the main factor in whether you decide to stay here. And as I said above, if you look past that, there are a number of other hostels and B&B's in Newquay that would probably provide better accommodation for around the same price.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people were very friendly and it had a homely feel the location was also good. Beds were comfy.

Disliked: There were no lockers or keys to the room and random people often just walked into the house. The bathrooms were not very clean and my room needed a vacuum (there were toenail clippings on the floor)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: great staff

Disliked: creaky beds, and no loo paper :S

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location was great; rooms weren't too cramped; use of kitchen keeps cost of eating down; 5 min walk to sainsburys

Disliked: There are good quality, cheaper options that include breakfast in the same area; members of staff/long-termers monopolised common area which can be a little intimidating when travelling solo; no locks on doors

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Proper backpacker hostel good atmosphere

Disliked: No locks on rooms

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability