Website feedback

Reviews of Albatross Newcastle upon Tyne Hostel

51 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Important Information

We accept the following forms of payment: Cash, Traveller's Cheques in Pound Sterling, All major credit and debit cards - excluding American Express.

Important additional information!
- A valid photo ID is necessary to check in.
- We classify 4 or more guests as a group.
- Our group cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to arrival.
- We require 50% of the outstanding balance when you make the booking and the
remaining balance 14 days before you arrive.
- Each group member need to pay a cash bond of £ 25.00 on arrival ( this is refundable ).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newcastle upon Tyne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


26 May 2018

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location is great and the room we stayed in was at the back and no street noise

Disliked: There was no hooks in the showers to hang towels/item - this is just something small i noticed but more of a recommendation.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Right in the heart of it all. Staff were brilliant

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards
The Albatross Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Excellent hostel.friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

Thank you for your review!

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Albatross Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: A comfy and convenient hostel in Newcastle very close to the main station and all the attractions of downtown. The staff were great: very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and airy, with lots of room. Nice kitchen and common area as well.

Disliked: I thought it was great - the only thing missing was a mirror in the room I was in (female dorm).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review.

We do have mirrors available at reception for guests to use. We will ensure we adequately advertise this for future guests!

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating


22 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Ease of access 24/7.

Disliked: No single bed rooms

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: no

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Staff were really helpful and approachable. Excellent location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Excellent value for money, great central location and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: it was in the middle of the city so a perfect location

Disliked: The other hostle users makeing lots of noise in the early hoursthe hostel reception did nothing to keep noise at a minimum,

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Good location, clean bedding, free tea and coffee

Disliked: Nowhere to store food, food I put in the fridge went missing,. No lockers in the bedrooms. Breakfast was just tea and toast - no cereal or jam provided. None of the showers on the first floor were working - long queues for the showers on the other floors.

Check Availability