Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Oasis-Female Only London Hostel

163 Borough High Street, SE1 1HR, Southwark, London, England

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

The Oasis is located on the second floor of St Christopher's The Village, It is a different aisle of the building with an extra key card access.

Check-in: 2pm. Valid UK Drivers Licenses, Valid Passport's and a Valid European Identity Card's is required upon check-in.

Group bookings are not guaranteed to be in the same room and are subject to availability. Please contact the hostel prior to your arrival to check if there is availability.

Please note that guests under 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians. They cannot share in general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under-18s are not allowed in the bars or pubs. If you do not make this clear and book children into a mixed dorm, your reservation will be cancelled upon arrival and you will not receive a refund.

Please note that the maximum stay policy is 14 days

A £2 key card deposit will be required upon check in (refundable on check out)

Breakfast not included, £3 for unlimited continental buffet.

Please note: American Express cards are not accepted

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Female only dorm

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The hostel is well located.The rooms and facilities are clean.The staff is nice and helpful.

Disliked: The noise made my stay unbearable. I barely could sleep. It felt like the room had no windows or that I was trying to sleep in the middle of the street.


The property's response is

Hi there , thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities, we will pass the kind words to our staff members. Unfortunately being very central brings a lot of noise. Free earplugs are available in reception ;0

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: really good breakfast for a hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our free breakfast, it is great to start the day. See you soon ;)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I stayed in a 14-bed dorm at the London Bridge Oasis for one night. The room was big enough for so many people, the lockers under the beds were crazy big (which is always good) and the room seemed as clean as someone would expect when they check-in. I was assigned a top bunk which was alright. The sheets were clean, the matress was comfortable, only the pillow could've been a bit bigger but overall it was just fine. The washrooms were very clean and when I returned to the hostel at night I enjoyed a very nice shower. There were a few long hairs in the shower cabin but that was too be expected when staying in a female-only hostel so it didn't bother me as the entire washrooms (sinks, mirrors, showers, toilets, floors) were very clean otherwise. Breakfast was also included in the price but I decided not to have any as I'm not a breakfast person. The lady at check-in was perfectly polite but not very friendly/interested. However, the lady at check-out made up for it. She had a lovely and very friendly smile. I stayed there previously and I would stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing to really complain about.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities hit the mark for you! We will also be sure to pass on your comments about our staff--and their smiles! ;) Safe travels and come back any time!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's so close to London Bridge/Borough tube stations and as such is also in a pretty central location. The staff were friendly and the room/bedding/bathrooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: I know it's unlikely to be much different in many other hostels but the noise from the main road and the bar downstairs (until 1 or 2am at least) is annoying. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for leaving us a review! We're so glad you enjoyed our prime location; close to many London must-sees! We will also be sure to pass on your kind words about our staff. Being located above a bar on a busy High street, the noise level can get quite loud which is why we provide free earplugs at reception for those lighter sleepers. ;) We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Until next time, safe travels!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: pub in the basement

Disliked: cleaning in the toilets

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry some elements of cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We do have housekeeping staff that clean the facilities 3 times a day however, with more than 200 guests, you sometimes make it to the mess before the housekeepers do. We are glad you made the most of the Dugout--and Belushi's, too?-- and hope you come back to party with us again soon!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything is great

Disliked: The showers are too hot. It was impossible to stay under there for more than 15 seconds at a time

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay despite the issues with the shower. We will certainly look in to this and have them in tip-top shape for your next stay with us. Until then, safe travels!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good lockers, warm showers

Disliked: Not that easy to meet people room is near to a traffic street, noisy


The property's response is

Hello,
thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed our facilities. Next time feel free to come check the Stchritophers inn or Belushi`s just a few minutes walk to meet more people Take care ;)

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's quite clean and cheap, near the city centre.

Disliked: Breakfast time starts late and ends early. I would suggest from 6.30AM to 10 AMThe distance between lower bed abd upper bed is short so it's inconvenient for those who stay in the lower one.Check-in and check-out time is a little bit unreasonable while having to pay for lockers. In some places, they don't charge for leaving luggages.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review but we're sorry to read that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to the fact our hostel might not have lived up to your expectations.As for the free breakfast time we try to make it convenient for everyone by making it from 7am to 9:30am but we do apologize if this did not suit your needs.As for the lockers you are provided a free locker in your room while your reservation is active but we do provide inexpensive locker rental otherwise.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location if you visit London, close to tube station and most tourist attractions. Hostel is clean, very spacious room in my 8-bed dorm with large lockers. Free towel. Showers are private, working well with hot water. Fast and free Internet connection. Breakfast is included and awesome with yogurt and fruits. Very good value hostel for the standards (I have stayed in many hostels in London).

Disliked: No free luggage storage before check-in. They provide secure lockers instead, but charge applies. Guy unfriendly - I am a girl, but I find girls generally far more annoying in hostels. Street noise. No communal area. Water taps. Thing to fix: in room 2, the multi-socket extension is old and not working properly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed our Breakfast as it was one of our key points to develop during 2014 and it looks like it paid off. In regards to no communal area the Oasis (female only) building does only offer room and bathroom facilities but you are welcome to and your key card gives you access to all the communal areas at the Village site including the chill out room, roof top terrace, free laundry facilities and bar discounts.

Check Availability