HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

***************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 266 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The place was very conveniently located. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. We were put in a 6 bed dorm. The place had excellent wifi connection as well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Aradhna,

thank you very much for this nice review:-)
We are proud that you liked our central location, our friendly staff and the rooms.
We looking forward to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels!
Your MEININGER Team London

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room and bed linens were clean. Great location!

Disliked: The bathrooms are particularly small, in addition there were no hooks to hang your stuff up so it would get all wet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for this nice review!

We are happy and proud that you liked our hotel's location and the "helpful and friendly staff" :-)

We would be happy to see you again here in London!
Your MEININGER TEAM

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good

Disliked: Not a lot

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear William,

thanks for your review. We really appreciate that!
Hope to see you again soon :-)

Your MEININGER Team London

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location, close to attractions, underground station is nearby, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Definitely recommending this spot for others!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Christina,

thanks a lot for this nice comment! We really appreciate that and looking forward to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: location location to West London and Hyde Park

Disliked: slooooooooow internet and no self catering facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean bedrooms and perfect location!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this nice comment :-)

Nice to hear that you liked our friendly staff and the hotel's location!

We hope to see you again soon!
Your MEININGER Team London

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Comfy seating and beds; no corridor noise; large windows in lounge and dining room overlooking busy London hassle and bustle; wealthier more luxurious part of London; hostel, shops, restaurants and cafés near to Tube station

Disliked: Toilet, sink and shower in a tiny cubicle in the corner of the room. Shower hard to turn off fully. Tricky getting dressed and keeping clothes dry as there was no where to hang clothes in there. Glad everyone was asleep when I used it (I didn't hear another person use it until my alarm went off) because I would have felt self conscious spending time putting make up on in there too. Only one set of alternative public toilets in the building. Still worth staying there despite these things.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Sara,

thank you for your detailed review :-)
Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's location and enjoyed your stay except of the bathrooms.
We nevertheless hope you'll come back to us soon!

Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice neighborhood, close to small shops, safe etc

Disliked: Pretty satisfied to be honest, maybe just a tad too expensive for a non party far from club hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: T

Disliked: Ty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for this nice evaluation ;-)

We would be pleased to welcome you again soon!!

Cheers,
Your MEININGER Team London

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is excellent, and the staff very nice

Disliked: The toilet in the rooms were much too small, its impossible to take a shower without getting all the floor wet

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your staying.
We are also very pleased with our central location and its good to hear that the kindness of our staff is appreciated. As for the toilets we are soon starting a refurbishment which will be bring a greater confort for our guests.
Greetings from Meininger London and hope to see you soon!

Check Availability