Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar APM-96
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cots available
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Towels are included in private rooms. In dorms they are not included, but available to rent from the reception.
For bookings of several beds in dorms, we do not guarantee accommodation in the same room.

Please note:

Check in time from 03.00 p.m.
Check out time at 11.00 a.m.

Cancellation policy 24 hours before arrival
We accept credit card and cash on arrival

Breakfast is not included

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE

1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon
total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A
reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the
agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 41-50 of 266 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Showers and rooms were clean.

Disliked: The individual shower stalls were a bit small which made it difficult to change inside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We hope to welcome you again!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location. The bed is also good.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small and not clean!


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We are planning refurbishments of the bathrooms to make them bigger. We will definitely look into your remark about the cleanliness.

Best regards
MEININGER Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and fair price was main criteria while choosing this hostel.

Disliked: Small bathrooms, additionally paid breakfast, no kettle in the room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there,

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay here in London.
We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometimes!
Thanks again for choosing Meininger,

Your Meininger team in London.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: all of the above. especially the helpful reception staff.

Disliked: nothing really though a kettle for tea and coffee making would have been nice

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this nice review.
We really appreciate it and are happy& proud that you enjoyed your stay with us:-)
Looking forward to see you again soon.

Your MEININGER Team London

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: Tha stuff wasn't very friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this comment. We really appreciate it.
Nice that you liked our location and cleanliness. It is even worse hearing that the staff was not friendly enough to make you feel welcomed and comfortable.
We apologize for this inconvenience and nevertheless hope to see you again here in London.

Your MEININGER Team

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room, small lockers, few small showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you for this comment. We really appreciate it!
We are happy that you liked our hotels location and enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to meeting you again!

Your MEININGER Team London

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, great location, wifi, common room lots of lounges were great

Disliked: Price of drinks vending machine

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Michelle,

thank you for this helpful comment.
We are happy, that you enjoyed the location and liked the cleanliness and our lounges (and the WIFI :-)

Looking forward to meeting you again soon!
Your MEININGER Hotel

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I didn't get enough of a chance to see

Disliked: There are several major complaints here which all contributed to the worst experience I have had with a hotel in my life. These concern: room cancelled without consent, failure of staff to rectify this, hotel unstaffed, poor security, lack of care for customers, failure of staff to contact management when needed, failure of hotel management to effectively address the issues. I ended up sleeping on the streets as a result of this. The night before arrival, I had a late flight, so slept at the at the airport, and then arrived at the hotel the next morning tired and in need of a shower. Upon arrival, I was told that there was nowhere for me to shower, but I could use a public bathroom to freshen up. It was a kind cleaning lady who spoke little English who suggested that I could use a disabled toilet, which would allow more privacy. However, reception staff informed me that this was not a facility for "normal" people such as myself. I am an experienced traveller and have never before not been able to take a shower in a hostel, even in hostels where dorms have ensuite bathrooms. An example of them putting rules before service. I met my mother at the hostel and said that I wasn't happy and wondered if I should stay somewhere else. I discussed this with reception, who explained that the hotel's policy was that I would still have to pay the full price if I cancelled. With this in mind, I decided to keep the bed, paid the full amount, and received a receipt which clearly states that this is for one night's accommodation. At no point, was I told verbally or in writing that the room was cancelled. The receptionist even commented that once I saw my room, I would be much happier, obviously suggesting that she did not consider the reservation cancelled. I left my bags at the hotel and then went about my day, seeing friends just outside London. I returned to the hotel at around 20.10. There was nobody on reception and no note to say how to contact someone or when someone would be back. The key for the luggage area was on full display so that people could get their bags from the luggage room. As this hotel has had complaints in the past regarding security of the luggage room, with promises from management that this would be rectified, I was surprised to see the key out on full display.On her return, about 30 minutes later, before attending to waiting customers, the receptionist took and ate some chocolate from the vending machine - she neither apologised for or explained her lengthy absence. She then told me quite curtly that my reservation had been cancelled. I showed her the receipt which clearly states that it is for one nights accommodation. But despite all evidence, she insisted that it was for a cancellation, and shrugged her shoulders and said "you have a phone, there's plenty of hostels around here". She then turned to a friend to discuss a football match....She didn't apologise, and refused to contact a manager. Only after I insisted did she go online to look at alternative accommodation (it should be their responsibility, legally, to provide alternative accommodation in this case). However, she refused to contact any of them to check if there was a free room, and given her hostile behaviour, and my tiredness, I had no choice in this situation but to leave, with all my belongings with no accommodation. While I am not making assumptions about the character of this receptionist, I felt she certainly was ill-equipped to deal with this situation. Sadly, there was no available hostels locally. I spent roughly 4 hours looking for somewhere to sleep, but there were no available rooms that night anywhere. I ended up sleeping on the street.As yet, I have had no apology from the hotel. They also refused to refund my deposit and called me rude.


The property's response is

Dear Sir or Madam,

We are sorry that your visit was not as expected but as explained in a number of private emails to you your presentation of what happened is not correct.

Regards

Meininger Management

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was beautiful and safe.

Disliked: The staff was extremely rude!


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this comment.
Nice to hear, that you liked our hotel's location. We have to excuse us for you not feeling welcomed and well treated by our staff.
We nevertheless hope to welcome you again to convince you with good MEININGER-Service!

Regards,
Your MEININGER Team London

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Muy cómoda la habitación. Todo prolijo. Muy buen servicio. Excelente el recepcionista Alexandre que nos ayudó con información. Lo recomiendo.

Disliked: El baño no estaba reluciente, pero era compartido y en eso la culpa la tiene también la gente que no cuida. Pero es mínimo.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate that!
Looking forward to meeting you again soon:-)

Your MEININGER Team London

Check Availability