HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER London Hyde Park London Hostel

at Baden Powell House, 65-67 Queen's Gate, London, England

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.


Special cancellation & payment conditions 2016/2017:

25.03.2016 - 28.03.2016
05.05.2016 - 08.05.2016
13.05.2016 - 16.05.2016
29.12.2016 - 02.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

***********
10.06.2016 - 12.06.2016
25.11.2016 - 27.11.2016
02.12.2016 - 04.12.2016
09.12.2016 - 11.12.2016

Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.
If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.
************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

***************
Booked catering services may be cancelled free of charge up to eight days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 percent of the agreed price will be payable.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 266 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, Safe, Good Location, Decent Price

Disliked: No Atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was excellent and room was clean

Disliked: It can get noisy as its used by large school parties but not really any problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
Thank you for Choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park and for taking the time giving us your review,
we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

we would like to welcome you back again soon to exceed your expectations!

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great hostel really, easy location for getting to many of London's best attractions and also incredibly safe area. Nice that the dining area is open to use for some peace and quiet during the evening. Very secure in terms of lockers etc and generally attracts a more cultured, slightly older cliental than most hostels. Super easy to get here and tube station is 2mins walk. Staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I think the cleaners on the 6th floor are getting away with cleaning around the edges of things rather than doing a proper deep clean. Some sinks were blocking regularly, bins going unemptied and I also noticed only the main floor area in rooms is getting cleaned and under the beds were caked with dust. Can be a little odd when the reception area is hosting events as it will suddenly get mobbed by hundreds of scouts or an elderly salsa class. Could do with a second receptionist in mornings as they are also running the cafe area so it may take 10mins or so to be seen.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ambiente de primeira. Hostel ocupa casa de Baden Powell e por isso o ambiente tem envolvimentos culturais positivos com igrejas, escolas e grupos estudantis. Situa-se na melhor localização de Londres, entre Embaixadas e em frente do Museu de História Natural e a poucos metros do Hide Park. Maravilhoso. Vou voltar lá para hospedar-me nas duas últimas semanas de outubro.

Disliked: Nada. Excelente!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is great. Beds are great.

Disliked: Bathrooms are super small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park and for taking the time giving us your review,
as we speak we are busy with refurbishments that will make the rooms and the bathrooms bigger for a better comfort for our guests.
we still hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

we would like to welcome you back again soon to exceed your expectations!

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very central

Disliked: Its ok for Staying a few Nights,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
Thank you for Choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park and for taking the time giving us your review,
we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

we would like to welcome you back again soon to exceed your expectations!

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Every thing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your lovely review!

we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

best regards,

Your Meininger Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was amazing for access to central London and the underground. I chose this hostel because I had an early morning flight leaving Heathrow and it cut a bit of time off the trip to their airport.

Disliked: I chose a dorm room with a private ensuite. While the room was very nice, I found the bathroom quite claustrophobic and uncomfortable to manoeuvre in (it was clean though with good water temperature and pressure!).I also found the lockers were a bit too narrow to store my pack (i had to empty the bag and store my belongings separately) and some of the lock components were broken such that you couldn't actually attach a lock to them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences during your stay and are thankfull for your feedback. at the moment we are very busy with refurbishments and improvements in the room like better acces to the bathroom aswell.

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Excellent location. Nice lobby for hanging out.

Disliked: The staff hasn't changed sheets on my bed when someone left, I had to complain about it and change them myself. This also happened to someone else in my room (12 people room). The breakfast could be cheaper/smaller but free. Also, in our room there was a guest behaving badly, even after number of people complaining, the staff didn't do anything about it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences during your stay. at this point we cannot reverse time and make up for this but we are very thankfull for sending us your feedback so we can and will improve our service in the future.

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good environment.

Disliked: Weak wifi connection in room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel London Hyde Park!

we apologise for any inconveniences with connecting with wifi, we are working on this and will be improving the connection in the future!

we hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in our hotel to exceed your expectations.

kind regards,

Your Meininger Team.

Check Availability