Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Cambridge Cambridge Hostel

97 Tenison Road, Cambridgeshire, CB1 2DN, Cambridge, England

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 83%

Safety 93%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.

‘To ensure that YHA provide safe and suitable accommodation for everyone, children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a person who is 18 or older. Children between 11 and 16 can stay in public dorms if accompanied by an adult, who they checked in with. Children under 11 are not permitted to stay in public dormitory accommodation and should be booked into a private room. Children who are 16 or over may stay in any accommodation within the YHA. Groups of guests of mixed genders, who wish to stay in the same room, must book private accommodation.’
Please note that private rooms are made up of bunk beds, as are dormitories.

For cancellation, please contact the hostel 24 hours before the day of arrival or it will incur the late cancellation charge

Check in from 2pm
Check out by 10am

This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival.

Please note that our breakfast price is £6.25.

Cancellation policy: Cancellation notice must be given at least one full day prior to arrival date. In case of a late cancellation or No Show, you will be charged the first night of your stay.

To ensure that YHA provide safe and suitable accommodation for everyone, children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a person who is 18 or older. Children 12 and over can stay in public dormitories if accompanied by an adult, who they checked in with. Children under 12 are not permitted to stay in public dormitory accommodation and should be booked into a private room. Children who are 16 or over may stay in any accommodation within the YHA. Groups of guests of mixed genders, who wish to stay in the same room, must book private accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cambridge?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 83%

Safety 93%

Staff 93%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: 24h check in

Disliked: Expensive breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Massimiliano,

Thank you for your review. We take guest feedback seriously and appreciate all reviews. I'm disappointed to hear you found our breakfast expensive. At £6.25 for a full English breakfast buffet, continental selection and hot/cold drinks included we feel this is good value for money for our guests. If you have any further feedback regarding this please do not hesitate to email us so we can look at improving this further.

Kind regards

Holly
Reception
YHA Cambridge

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Was very clean and organized and offer many facilities

Disliked: The location is very close to the train station but the is not in the very city center

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Carlos,

Thank you for your great review! Our housekeeping team works incredibly hard to ensure the hostel facilities and cleanliness is to a high standard for our guests so I am pleased you experienced this.

We are approximately 15 minutes from the city centre, however there are lots of regular buses running from the train station (approx. 4 minutes walk) to the city every day. There is also bike hire available near by for guests who wish to experience Cambridge by bicycle and our lovely reception team are more than happy to call a taxi for any guest who requests it.

We hope to have you stay again in future, happy travels!

Holly Swallowe
Deputy Hostel Manager
YHA Cambridge

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nice staff and good rooms

Disliked: Terrible food

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thanks for leaving a review, we always appreciate hearing guest feedback. We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and liked the facilities. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our food - if you had any specific issues please do not hesitate to get in touch. We strive to produce a tasty, reasonably priced menu as well as a wide range of snacks, but understand this may not be to everyone's taste. We hope to welcome you to Cambridge again nevertheless. Kind regards, Melissa - Reception

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Only cheap hostel in Cambridge

Disliked: Window in the room is so small. I CAN hardly breathe even its fully half opened at night with so many people sleeping together. I FEEL lack of oxigen seriously


The property's response is

Hi Xiuyu,

Thank you for your review. We take guest feedback seriously and it is a shame to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We did have some unseasonably warm weather this year which made our rooms a little warm at night, we did put fans in all of the rooms to aid circulation as much as possible but I appreciate that it may have made for a restless nights sleep.

We hope that this did not put you off and that you would consider staying with us again in future.

Kind Regards

Holly Swallowe
Deputy Hostel Manager
YHA Cambridge

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Very noisy. Hostel is overcrowded. Very small room for many people. In the room window almost not open, nothing to breathe. Air no also in the showers, toilets and corridors. I was seriously afraid what suffocated. Even when outside 15 degrees in the room as in the bath. Horrible impolite roommates which did not sleep. It were not young people but women ages 50+. The door to the room cannot close silently. Very bad conditions.


The property's response is

Hi Irina,

thank you for your review. I appreciate the weather had been unseasonably warm this year and it has made for an uncomfortable nights sleep on occasion. We did put fans into all of the rooms to aid circulation as much as possible. Our biggest rooms are a 6 bedded dorm room and all our rooms have storage facilities available to them. The showers and toilets have extractor fans fitted in them to circulate air and remove steam when in use. We have since adjusted the door to the room you were allocated so that it closes slower and therefore quieter.

We at YHA welcome people of all ages into our hostel, including into shared dormitories. If you have room mates being noisy our staff are happy to either discuss the situation with them and also to provide you with ear plugs to reduce the noise.

We hope that you give us a second chance in future to give you a better experience.

Kind Regards

Holly Swallowe
Deputy Hostel Manager
YHA Cambridge

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice and clean rooms, lots of facilities, helpful stuff, delicious food!!!

Disliked: Maybe it is not so close to the centre but you can easily walk it

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best hostel ive ever been to! Reading lights, clean showers and toilets, modern facilities..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Beautiful facilities. Very close to the rail station, and an easy walk to center city. Very affordable, very friendly, very clean.

Disliked: Only slight dislike was that there was a fee for towels.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location near the train station, good facilities (lounge, kitchen, wifi etc). There a bar that serves food as well, and you can pay £5.25 for a breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bunks all had a shelf, bedside light and plug. No complaints!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a brand new hostel. Nice rooms, beds and showers. Really clean and downstairs a great place to meet new people. At the bar there are great chairs, there is a room where you can play some games and the kitchen is big enough for everyone. The staff is really helpfull and nice.

Disliked: It's a little bit far from the city centre. But there is no other option for this price closer to the centre. The walk is nice and safe to do. So it was not a big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability