Website feedback

Reviews of Al Salam Camp Luxor Hostel

Ramlah Village, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 100%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Children's Play Area"
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Luxor?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 98%

Staff 95%

Value 100%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Although it is a camp, it is very clean and nice. I got an upgrade to a private room with the same dorm price, it even has a mosquito net which is very handy at night. Ahmed the owner even make me dinner at a discounted price. The dinner is fulfilling and the rice is so good. it is in the west bank so you got a chance to take the ferry with other locals and admirer the beautiful river Nile and sunset. It is also near to all the temples. I would recommend this place for its value.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All Salam Camp is a unique and idyllic place to stay and will give you a small taste of the 'real Egypt'. Ahmed, the host and owner, has worked really hard to make his camp a pleasant and atmospheric oasis on the West Bank of the river Nile. The huts were simple and clean, fans and mosquito nets provided. Toilets and shower were clean. Hospitality was first class, and Ahmed fed our family with delicious Egyptian food and lots of Egyptian tea. Really good value, our family would definitely return.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Our only disappointment was a trip to the local 'crocodile Island' where there was a distinct lack of crocodiles! However, the felucca boat trip was another idyllic way to watch the sunset.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is a shame for anybody to not stay here. You are not entering a hostel, you are staying at Ahmad's home! The genuine and warm hospitality that his family provided was beyond beautiful.I liked the location at the West Bank of Luxor as you are not based in the city; which is a good thing. The place is located so close to the main Luxor sites (Valley of Kings, Queens, Hao City etc.) and only a ferry ride away to the busy streets of hagglers (East Bank).Definitely a place where you can relax! Well done Ahmad!

Disliked: I only disliked that I did not stay there any longer!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a very special atmosphere at el salam! I would say perfect for backpackers, groups and everybody who is out for experiencing the real way of live of egyptian people! Veeeery good was also the food (breakfast and dinner) they prepare for less extra money!

Disliked: The matress was dusty, an own bedsheet helped me out.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The host Ahmed was very gracious

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There are so many wonderful things about Al-Salam Camp. Its location on the peaceful West Bank of Luxor provides you with a delightful nights sleep. On arrival the owner collected us from the train station and took us to the camp - free of charge! Once arrived at the camp, he upgraded us from one twin to two private rooms, which were spacious, clean and peaceful. He then provided us with beer in the relaxing courtyard area. We have had a wonderful few nights at Al-Salam, and the owner is so helpful with everything from suggesting places to go and how to get there to arranging tours and obtaning a water pipe!Food is excellent home cooked fare and I challenge anyone to be able to finish all of it!I cannot speak highly enough of Al-Salam, from the moment you arrive in Luxor, you will be treated like one of the Pharoes lieing in the tombs near by. All trips to Luxor must now add this great accomodation to their list of must do's!

Disliked: Having to leave and that there arent more Al-Salam Camps around the country!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Gets you out of the noise and hustle of the city into a basic camp-like atmosphereFamily businessMy dorm turned out private as I was the only one who booked it!

Disliked: Meals and tours proposed by the host are very expensive compared to what you can get in the cityNot much open space inside the camp

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Four of us stayed five nights at Al Salam Camp, and for its location, character, value and warm family atmosphere, found it to be one of the best places we’ve stayed in. Run by Ahmed and his wife – who makes a mean tagine! – it’s a haven of tranquillity on the beautiful West Bank of the Nile, by far the best side to stay on as it’s much more chilled than the busier, noisier East Bank.We were made to feel at home the minute we arrived, with refreshingly cold beer and informal chat around the communal meal table to the sounds of Bob Marley. Our huts were charming – octagonal, colourfully painted and equipped with mosquito net, fan, electric light and socket. We were reassured that there was no need to lock our doors during the day as Ahmed would always be around, and indeed, everything did feel very safe (although we always carried our passports and money with us). For all its character, this is camping in huts, but toilets and showers were hygienic and the camp itself was kept very clean.Breakfasting on tea/coffee, orange juice and either pancakes or omelettes in the Bedouin-style meal area was a daily treat, to the sounds of braying donkeys and grazing buffaloes, and when we returned, hot and dusty, from a trip, a cold beer or orange juice would always be waiting for us.Ahmed himself is a great character who looked after us all well and the camp made our Luxor experience that extra bit special. We would definitely return and recommend highly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability