Website feedback

Reviews of Egyptian Night Cairo Hostel

13 Merit Basha St. Cairo Egypt, Cairo, Egypt

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

Showing 11-20 of 42 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the fact that the building was around 100 years old, and that they made a beautiful hostel out of the fifth floor! The balcony gives a great view of the city as well~

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, staff are helpful and friendly if you talk to them. I ended up staying in a private double room with ensuite when booked for a dorm, not sure why but didn't complain :-).Not much pressure on booking tours/trips, I ended up doing everything by myself and saving a fortune using public transport, but obviously was less convenient.For the price you pay it's definitely good value for money. Would recommend.

Disliked: The kitchen could do with being a bit bigger, the oven hobs don't work but it's probably cheaper to eat out anyway. the 24 hour reception staff was sleeping on my arrival and the front door was locked so I thought the hostel had shut down, if it wasn't for a couple of other people who were in the hallway I probably would have walked off into the night to find somewhere else to stay.At night there was a slight sewage smell from the toilet of the room I was staying in, it didn't bother me too much but could for others. The laundry is charged on a 'per item' basis rather than a standard cost for a wash. 20EGP per item, so when you have many pairs of socks and small items it can cost a fortune... This should change in my eyes.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cosy atmosphere and interesting reception area with a view. The breakfast good and the staff very friendly and helpful.Would certainly recommend this place to budget travellers.

Disliked: Bedroom ensuite was a bit run-down and needs updating but very acceptable given the price.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a triple private room with ensuite that was one of the largest rooms we have stayed in on our RTW trip. The staff were friendly and didn't push us to book any tours. We did book a car through them to take us to Pyramids, Saqqara, Darshur, and Memphis, which we could not have done without a car. The location is fantastic, right across the street from museum and close to metro. Even though there were protest during our stay, we felt completely safe even being just two blocks from Tahir Square. The hotel does not have a hostel vibe, it is more of a hotel, which we liked. Make sure to go to the famous Kushari restaurant, it is right around the street!

Disliked: The rooms are loud, but I would imagine it is loud everywhere in Cairo.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner, Mostafa, was extremely friendly and helpful. All of his help was the only bright spot in an otherwise very poor experience here. Free ride from airport (not back).

Disliked: Easily the dirtiest hostel/hotel I have ever stayed in (very easily). Room stinks of sewer, lobby of building stinks of cat urine, dirty, loud, mosquitoes, etc. If it were not for the lack of an itch, I would have thought there were bedbugs from all of the mosquito bites I got at night. I took one of the "tours" from them. I thought by paying more for the "tour" than for a cab, I would be exempted from all the trouble people like to put tourists through...wrong. There was a lot of pressure to go on a camel ride, to the "papyrus museum", etc. When I asked to see a site right next to one we were already at, I was denied, because it was not on the "tour". You will save money, have more freedom, and probably be hasseled less just getting a cab for the day. While being next to the museum is great, the location is insufferably loud from car horns throughout the night, in addition to being horribly polluted. I would normally never say this, but do yourself a favor and just stay on the outskirts near something else worth while. Internet did not work at least half the time, so it was impossible to plan for the next leg of our trip without going to an internet cafe. Seriously, save yourself the trouble and do not consider staying here. Ignore the rating on hostelbookers, there is no way it was not rigged.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location

Disliked: dishonest staff, we were recommand the black and white desert tour of 90USD per person, after we paid, everything changed, I would never recommand this hostel to any of my friends


The property's response is

It's very disappointing to receive a comment like this . Transfers/Pickups from and to the bus station, 4*4 jeep private with A/C, 6 Meals, 2 ways bus tickets, English speaking tour guide, and entrance fees what else can you have for 90USd. finally thanks for sharing your opinion with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property is in a good location, steps away from the Egyptian Museum and a short walk from the Nile. As far as the property itself, it is small and very comfortable, simply stated: inviting. The best experience about this property was the service provided, it was by far the best way to get acquainted with local Egyptian guys in a non-creepy way, they are the friendliest and most helpful people encountered in Egypt! A special thanks to Mostafa X 3, Mohammed X 2 and Ahmed for all your help and patience and going beyond your job at the hotel to help us enjoy Cairo and its surroundings. I highly recommend this hotel, it is definitely worth the value.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Evelyn , we really wanted to make your first visit to Egypt enjoyable as hard as we can . We love that our guests still remembering us as a good friends not just owners and customers and that is the secret of success . we looking forward your second visit and staying at our hotel . Greetings from all staff to you and Fabiola .

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and location is great...

Disliked: Being on the 5th floor with broken lift which I don't think will be fixed is a pain!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. we would like to start with the elevator issue, first we would like to apologize for this problem but we really did our best to get fix as soon as possible, secondly we would like to inform you that the elevator is working fine now. We hope you had a good time during your stay with us and wish to see you soon again at your place Egyptian Night Hostel.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to museum

Disliked: No running water

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for sharing your experience during your stay in our propriety. Water stopped working only for 2hrs because we were doing repairs and we did inform all of our guests the day before.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms & common area, real breakfast, beside honest and open-minded staff. The elevator broke 2 days before my arrival but they sent me an email to inform me about that and offering me 20% off the room rate in return of that. They are a group of experienced and talented Egyptians who love their country, their job and want you to experience the best of Egypt, and The business owner has 23 year old and he real experienced about tourism in Egypt and traveling generally. I think that's enough to make Egyptian Night Hostel a great place to stay.

Disliked: No thing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We would like to thank you so much for your positive and encourage comment, we really do our best to make our customer happy and satisfied. We like traveling and tourism so much and its more than a Job for us and this is the secret behind all the effort we do. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our place, and we are happy to hear that you had a very good experience during your stay at the hostel. we wish to see you once again in Egypt and specially at your second home Egyptian Night Hostel :)

Check Availability