Website feedback

Reviews of The Secret Garden Quito Quito Hostel

Calle Antepara E4-60 y Los Rios, Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


29 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: People, atmosphere on the rooftop

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Staff were wonderful, there is a information desk on the main floor and that was super helpful - they helped us arrange our bus trip to Cali. This hostel has a fantastic rooftop patio, with an incredible view of the city. Our room was nice, as were the facilities.

Disliked: The hostel is safe/secure, but we were a little uncomfortable with the surrounding neighbourhood. It seems fine during the day, but watch your valuables and it was recommended not to go out at night (unless by cab).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is by far the most fun I have ever had staying at a hostel. Food was excellent and available even when we forgot to sign up. Downstairs traveling agency CarpeDM a big plus. Roof deck the second best view in Quito, after the Basilica. First international travel experience for one of my friends and no complaints from him. Love all the plants and Technicolor paint, makes me think of the city.s graffiti. Basically the coolest place we could have stayed and a great jumping off point. Airport cab arrangements at 1 am a huge plus.

Disliked: They warned us about the third floor shower but we were dumb and used it anyway. Fair amount of street noise, but to be expected when you are in the center of Quito old city. Wish they took cards although no one in Ecuador does. Accommodations, food, and drinks for 3 people over 3 days quickly added up, maybe pricy by Ecuador standards. Cheap for anywhere else in the world (private room, two days of breakfast, two days of dinners, 3 to 6 drinks both nights = $171).

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and comfortable with a nice roof top terrace.

Disliked: Breakfast is not included in the price. We weren't shown around or given any advice on Quito.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast for extra cost, plenty of chill out areas. Amazing terrace

Disliked: Have to hunt for a good shower, not a lot of restaurants/places to eat around in the evening

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great rooftop terrace with amazing view. Friendly staff, breakfast offered for affordable price, dinner can be booked, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Our double room had no window and could only be ventilated by the small metal-grilled window-part of the door or by opening the full door.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location in Centro Historico is great, it just took a while from the bus terminal but for a Sightseeing Tour it is perfect.

Disliked: The reception and outdoor living room is on the fifth floor, all bedrooms are below. So you hear in your room the people walking upstairs as the floor is wodden. also at night your hear people coming home, even if they are not noisy as it is very clairaudient.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is just fantastic. Most of the activity occurs on the terrace which overlooks old town and there is home cooking for dinner and breakfast. This is my second time here and I could not wait to come back.

Disliked: The floors are creaky and the walls a bit thin. There are rarely issues with people being overly loud but the nature of the building means that it can't helps get a bit loud when people go to bed or get up. I would recommend some ear plugs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very helpful staff. Lots of opportunity to meet other travellers. Evening meal on offer each night ( optional extra, but good value). Roof terrace with drinks available and fantastic view over the city. Help with organising tours and booking taxis, etc.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The views from the terrace are amazing. Free coffee, tea and filtered water. The tour agency downstairs offers a good range of tours that pick you up and drop you off straight from the hostel.

Disliked: Staff were lazy and incompetent. Only one guy (Santiago) was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was overpriced (especially beer) and staff served friends first, meaning we had to wait a good 45 minutes for dinner despite our names being on top of the list. Showers were rarely hot, bordering on freezing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability