Website feedback

Reviews of Thefunkymonkeyhostel Guayaquil Hostel

Vernaza Norte, Manzana 5, Solar 11, Guayaquil, Ecuador

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

Showing 21-30 of 34 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Can't really say much as we only arrived at 11 pm at night and then left at 9 am the following morning. Very convenient for the airport to fly to the Galapagos

Disliked: We booked a twin room but when we arrived we were given a room with a double bed. Not a problem, but not what we booked. Also, if anyone is out in the garden and you are in the private room, it is very loud

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sheets were dirty. Bedroom was clean. Dripping bathrom tap. I never understand why they can't include a cheap lamp in these hostels especially in the private rooms. No real kitchen equipment but helpful owner. Handy for bus terminal,

Disliked: Dirty sheets and the fact that the bedroom was right out of reception.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very good location for ones in transit - next to the airport, bus staion and 2 minuts walk from the biggest mall in the city (with cinema in english...)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location to aeroport and bus terminal

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was well located for those in transit (it is close to the airport and bus station). The property was also pretty secure.

Disliked: The property is poorly managed by the staff, as it was messy and generally not clean. When we arrived we were shown to a room which looked like someone had been sleeping in for a while (the sheets were a bit ruffled and did not smell clean and there were a few personal items in the room). The staff agreed to change our room for us but we had to ask for the basics, like a key and towels. The wifi did not work properly.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is so close to the airport, bus station, and the Mall de Sol food court, you won't find more convenient. It is very secure as well

Disliked: It was a bit dirty the day I was there, but that can be the case at most hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Real friendly Staff! Though they dont speak much englisch it was no problemto communicate with them. And yeah its a good place to partey too.I felt very comfortable during my stay.

Disliked: The location is not the best if you want to do sightseeing in Guayaquil.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the airport & bus terminal. It's around 15 mins walk to the airport. Cooked a great paella for us. Place could be great if the cleaned up the yard, filled the pool etc.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of places. The guys that run it are friendly hippies but the place needs a little work. Internet didn't work well, toilet had no paper & there was dead bugs everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, good location near the airport and bus station behind a busy mall.

Disliked: Room smelled weird, no toilet paper in the bathroom, sheets probably hadn't been changed in weeks.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely hostel, owner was really nice. Really clean and secure. Great location to be near bus station and airport. Good shopping centre across the road.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability