HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Hogar Cuencano Cuenca Hostel

Hermano Miguel 4 36 and Calle Larga, Cuenca, Ecuador

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 77%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 77%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: You don`t get much for your money. Clairaudient room with barely light from the ceiling but fully enlightened when somebody walks the stairs at night. Owner did not seem to care much about their guests and tried to trick me with the amount to pay when leaving.


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment and I am sorry for the inconvenience that you had but I will be working hard to improve those incovinences thanks again and goodo bless you .......Celso

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big room, hot shower, quiet

Disliked: Use of kitchen was only until 7pm

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, spotlessly clean, comfortable spacious private room with a good hot shower. Pleasant communal area. Highly recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. They go above and beyond to make you stay enjoyable. English and Spanish spoken.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good single ensuite room in good location in old town. Staff friendly (and English speaking).

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was excellent. Staff was nice!

Disliked: Perhaps a Little more privacy for the pvt room. The door was semi transparent. The room itself was excellent however.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners are friendly, and the location is fine.

Disliked: We did not like the room underneath the roof, it is way too rustic for my liking. (we had booked the 'deluxe' double room but it was not available because of illness). The prices are comparable to other hostels that have a much nicer setup, so sorry but I would never stay there again, and there is a lot of noise from the stairwell. To get to the rooftop patio you go down the three floors of stairs and then up the another three floors of stairs, the furniture is bare minimum uncomfortable wooden chairs.The sheets we had on our bed were repaired and old, they did not look clean, there is no reason in Ecuador not to have some nice woven wall hangings, it would help on the noise. Also I really dislike having only the bare bulb ceiling light in a room, no side table lamps or other lighting.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful during our stay. The rooms were great and the hostel is in a great location for exploring the city. The owner and his wife are very generous and helpful people, as are all of their staff members. We had a great time there.

Disliked: The only suggestion I would make would be to put curtains over the window in the door to the rooms. Other than that, everything was excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Good kitchen. Good location

Disliked: No social area

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was very helpful, the rooms were faultless big comfortable bed with lots of pillows and blankets. They have lots of nice touches and clean your room daily. There was no breakfast but right next door is a great cafe that has great ones

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability