Website feedback

Reviews of Youth Hostel Villa Marija Hvar Hostel

Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • SANITISATIONBADGE
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

AGE LIMIT: To stay in a dorm (shared) room, you must be under 45 years old. There is no age restriction for private rooms.
-Payment is on arrival: Cash only. Credit cards are not accepted.
-If you would like to cancel your booking, let us know by e-mail at least 72hours before your arrival. After this, 1st night will be charged. In the event of No-Show, the total cost of the reservation will be charged.
-Cancellations or modifications are only accepted by email. Phone cancellations/modifications are not accepted.
-City Tax (1euro per person per night) is not included and will be added upon making reservation. Please, consider this as extra fee in your budget.
-In cases where our Terms & Conditions and "Things To Note" are not respected, we reserve the right charge you for the full amount of reservation and to cancel the reservation/s without any notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 51-60 of 140 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The patio atmosphere is great and allows you to meet fellow travelers. A kitchen was available and the bedding was regularly changed. The location seemed to match many other hostels ( an uphill 10 minute walk). They will pick you up and drop you off for free when you first arrive and depart.

Disliked: One or two workers were rude, though the owners were extremely nice. If anyone wanted to socialize past 10:30pm you had to vacate the premises. *The air conditioning was turned on at night if you requested it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything, best place i stayed at in croatia, the terrace outside is great for meeting people and it's just a chilled friendly enviroment

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything you need from a Hostel.

Disliked: It was a bit of a trek from the centre of Hvar to get to the Hostel. About a 20 minute uphill walk!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, great place to party. Really easy to meet people as a solo traveler. Had my birhday here and they got me a giant drink at the bar. I really like this place. Picking me up and dropping me off at the ferry was a great perk (otherwise its a terrible walk with luggage)

Disliked: When I walked in to my room someone had left the master key set on the kitchen table, including the keys for all the lockers in our room. I could have robbed everyone ( but instead I gave the keys back) Use your own lock!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: That it was walking distance from the bach and from the town, although the stairs killed us...

Disliked: The toilet in the room was very dark, you could hardly see anything. A couple more lightbulbs would be just perfect

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a great place to stay, especially when travelling solo. Hvar is a place to meet people and experience the nightlife - this hostel delivers on that! Clean, laid back, great staff (particular shout out to Chris and Kate, who are champs!) and a great common area (outdoor patio) where everyone has a few a few drinks before going out (should you choose, there was no pressure here). The hostel gave us a free BBQ on Sunday and a free all day boat trip around the Palenki islands, due to some construction activity in the street that closed the hostel for a few hours during one day (which was outside their control!). Its also very close to a good swimming beach and the supermarket. The walk to the main square can be done in 10 to 15 minutes and its never a problem,especially when chatting away to new folk you have met!

Disliked: I had a great time here and disliked nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Daily free "pubcrawl"

Disliked: It's far away from the city center and after 10pm the terrace closes, so everybody has to go out or ger in rooms. It's too early.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The roof terrace is a great way of meeting other guests and chilling out in the day. The staff were all really friendly and knowledgable about what the island and surrounding islands had on offer.My room was spacious and the personal kitchen was a nice touch giving a communal area for our particular room to eat together in.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was the highlight of my trip! The staff was amazing, friendly and welcoming. It is the perfect place to meet people, since everyone hangs out on the terrace at night before leaving for bars. The island of Hvar is a must. Amazing landscape, beaches, nightlife and meteo! I would go back there anytime.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Picked us up from terminal- Organized a pub crawl that was fun- There was a fridge and sink in the kitchen area

Disliked: - 8 bed room was CROWDED, no room to put bags)- Very loose security to get into rooms (a keypad that everyone has the code to)- Bathroom smelled TERRIBLE


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback. Only guests from that room have the code to enter it. It's the other guests' responsibility to respect the privacy of the code. Only you have keys to your locker; these are very secure, no one else can access the contents.Furthermore, we have a security guard at night. The bathroom is cleaned regularly. It is unfortunate that the people you were sharing with were not as hygienic as you would have expected. The sanitary habits of our guests is not our responsibility.

Check Availability