Website feedback

Reviews of Youth Hostel Villa Marija Hvar Hostel

Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

AGE LIMIT: To stay in a dorm (shared) room, you must be under 45 years old. There is no age restriction for private rooms.
-Payment is on arrival: Cash only. Credit cards are not accepted.
-If you would like to cancel your booking, let us know by e-mail at least 72hours before your arrival. After this, 1st night will be charged. In the event of No-Show, the total cost of the reservation will be charged.
-Cancellations or modifications are only accepted by email. Phone cancellations/modifications are not accepted.
-City Tax (1euro per person per night) is not included and will be added upon making reservation. Please, consider this as extra fee in your budget.
-In cases where our Terms & Conditions and "Things To Note" are not respected, we reserve the right charge you for the full amount of reservation and to cancel the reservation/s without any notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 41-50 of 140 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great atmosphere, beautiful dorms. The owner helped us with anything we needed. The kitchen was very handy to have. I loved the terrace! The staff are very approachable and friendly.

Disliked: We were told the wrong/misleading information twice, once we almost weren't able to rent a boat and the second time we were told the wrong bus information. They are very eager to be helpful, but when travelling always double check the times and schedules! Still would recommend this hostel though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jenna, our staff gave you the bus timetable information (Split-Dubrovnik) which was provided on their official website. I'm afraid it is not our responsibility if they are subject to change and do not notify the website. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I'm glad to see you had an enjoyable stay. Look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Prompt & friendly transport to & from the bus station in Hvar to the hostel itself, which was greatly appreciated and only a phone call away. The hostel (and the island) itself was quiet and had very few visitors due to low season, so I was moved to an apartment, which was nice. Beautful views of the town from the balcony. Kitchenette, TV, and private bathroom were in the room as well. A short walk away from a supermarket and not far from the centre of town or a popular beach.

Disliked: The hostel was located on a hill, so the walk to the hostel may be a bit of a trek when coming from the centre of town. Hostel & town were very quiet at the end of October, so it may be a disadvantage to those who were looking for more of a party atmosphere at the time (I loved the peaceful atmosphere, so it was actually great for me.)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were lovely, warm and helpful. The location is a bit out of the town centre but the owner and her colleagues ferry people to and from the bus station near the marina whenever you need (within reason) she even rented a boat for us for a much cheaper price than quoted by companies in town, and drove us there too. The place is really pretty and our apartment had a terrace, telly and kitchenette. The rooms in the main house all go out onto a beautiful terrace with pink flowers growing down the walls and breathtaking ocean views. The people here all work so hard and were great. The experience of staying here was definitely worth the walk back home, which is nothing after a few drinks anyway!

Disliked: Genuinely just the distance from town. That being said, I would definitely stay here again if visiting hvar. Which I will be.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pick-up/drop-off at bus station or harbour is very convenient, comfortable terrace, close to a nice beach, not too far away from town, but still very quiet if you want a good night's sleep.

Disliked: Beds are a little creaky, and there was some ugly black mould in the shower cabin. Other than that, though, everything was very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They arranged pick up upon arrival. That was the first time a hostel has offered me a ride to their establishment! It was very clean & the staff was extremely helpful & kind!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Big outdoor terrace. Free pick up service. Clean and nice bathroom. Friendly staff. Free pub crawl every night. They have an Ipad you can use, however a pc might be useful too.

Disliked: Might be hard to find the first few times, it's not close to centre or anything. But then the advantage is, it's a quiet neighbourhood. Kitchen is poor compared to the other facilities the hostel has to offer.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is very friendly, the girl in the front desk (Anita) is really nice and friendly, she helps with everything you need! I also had good time in the party that the hostel take us (thanks australians!)I definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Such a cool place with great terrace to chill out on. They do a bar crawl every night so its a great introduction to hvar nightlife and great way to meet lots of people. Staff were really lovely and helpful. Good location for the best beach in hvar. Highly recommended!

Disliked: We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was quite small so it felt crowded and little room for our backpacks. Also the staff were a bit stingy about putting the air con on!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: It has great atmosphere, free burgers sometimes, and at night they take you to a club where you get a free shot. They have an iPad that you can ask for in the reception that is really a plus if you have to Skype or something. They pick you up at the port and that's great, because otherwise you'd get lost the first time. There's a supermarket nearby.

Disliked: I think it's a bit expensive. There's not a really secure place to store your luggage if you wanna check out at ten and go to the beach. All of the staff was really nice, except for the black haired woman at the front desk, I'm sorry to say it like this, but she can be a b!tch. Other than that, if it was cheaper I'd totally go again.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Excellent communal area. Staff, especially the young guy on reception (forgotten his name) are really helpful. Good clean faculties, the rooms are a little cosy but just means you get to know everybody really well :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability