Website feedback

Reviews of Youth Hostel Villa Marija Hvar Hostel

Lucije Rudan 7, Hvar, Croatia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

AGE LIMIT: To stay in a dorm (shared) room, you must be under 45 years old. There is no age restriction for private rooms.
-Payment is on arrival: Cash only. Credit cards are not accepted.
-If you would like to cancel your booking, let us know by e-mail at least 72hours before your arrival. After this, 1st night will be charged. In the event of No-Show, the total cost of the reservation will be charged.
-Cancellations or modifications are only accepted by email. Phone cancellations/modifications are not accepted.
-City Tax (1euro per person per night) is not included and will be added upon making reservation. Please, consider this as extra fee in your budget.
-In cases where our Terms & Conditions and "Things To Note" are not respected, we reserve the right charge you for the full amount of reservation and to cancel the reservation/s without any notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 74%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 11-20 of 140 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: All the employees were very pleasant, accommodation and friendly. We had a great experience at the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly staff with a great, well-priced little pizza and burger take-out located on the bottom floor, which is open from 5pm to midnight every day - definitely an unique feature to this hostel that I really liked. They'll even bring your food up to the patio for you when it's done, which made it feel like great hotel service.There is a great outdoor patio where everyone goes in the evening, and then out for the night. There are kitchens in every room and another main kitchen so that you can make all your food in the hostel if you want. Three markets are all located within a really short walking distance, as well as an ATM. The air conditioning also works REALLY well during the hours that it's turned on, from 6pm-10am. Almost too well, in fact, because it can be a bit chilly if your bed happens to be next to it (so choose a bed further away from the AC). The hostel also arranges for scooter rentals with pickup directly from the hostel, with the same prices as those found down in the town. Finally, for 65 Kuna they will wash and fold all your clothes for you, which is really nice. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone visiting Hvar!

Disliked: The pool wasn't very clean and most people (including myself) didn't use it. Not too big a problem, though, since the ocean is so close. The hostel is also located on the hill, so it's a bit of a climb to get to, but that's the case for most places in Hvar; it's a 10-15 minute walk up the hill from the old town, depending on how fast you walk. The only other complaint I would have is that the Wifi doesn't work in all the rooms; the signal isn't always strong enough. It does work very well on the outdoor patio, though.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I had an amazing stay at Villa Marija. I came to stay for just one night but end up extending it to 3 and wish it could be longer. At the check in the staff gives you a lot of tips about what to do in Hvar, which is great for people like me that comes with no plan at all.The room I stayed was really nice and clean, with a sink and fridge just for us; very convenient because you don't need to store all your things in the kitchen. A huge plus of this hostel is the common area, every night almost all the guests are drinking together and playing games, after that there's a free bar crawl leaving from there. Since I was travelling alone this was the perfect way to meet new people everyday.All in all definitely the best hostel I stayed on this trip so far.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk from the town center, but that means it's closer to the most beautiful beach around, which is where I spent most of my time during the day anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff, the room and general atmosphere.

Disliked: Long walk up from Hvar Town

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Even though I only stayed for two days, Villa Marija felt like home. Dennis,Kyle and Ivan are awesome, they really care about all the guests staying at the hostel and they'll give you ton of great suggestions what to do and how to spend your day. This is the place for everyone looking to socialise, meet people and relax. Great terrace to hang out, nice music, free wifi.

Disliked: Beer at the reception could be cheaper :P

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Like the terrace for chilling in the evening. Our room had equipped kitchen & separate m/f showers. Very friendly, helpful (& cute) receptionist. Daily cleaner really helped keep clean compared with other hostels. Easy parking nearby. Beds & facilities very clean, well above average.

Disliked: It was near top of hill, steep climb back after every trip to town centre/beach/supermarket. At least it keeps you fit & tones your bum!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was nice, the Hostel staff organises free shots and groups to go to the bars in town.

Disliked: There wasn't enough sockets: only 3 for the entire room. One bathroom for two rooms, 8 people in total, was a problem also.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very helpful staff and outdoor common area is quite nice.

Disliked: The staff come in every day and move all your posessions around andremake you bed. It really bothered me for some reason and one day i couldn't find my smaller bag and it had been placed with someone elses things under a different bed. Otherwise it's a great hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great for young people. Good atmosphere and there is a bar by the pool where the hostel organises drinks and then out to a bar so easy to meet people. Room was clean with air conditioning.

Disliked: Kitchen was small and always busy when making food. Not too much facilities ie toaster, microwave or oven.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Ruth, our kitchen is fully equipped including toaster, sandwich maker and microwave. Really don't know how you didn't see it. Hope to see you again soon and have a great summer :) Villa Marija Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice vibe! Very clean and nice staff!

Disliked: Aircon didnt work. A bit of a walk from the harbour

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability