Website feedback

Reviews of Gaudy's Hostel San Jose Hostel

Ave. 5 / Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636, Del Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, 200 al nor, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: We stayed here for one night and really liked it! The host is friendly and helpful, good value for the money! The hostel is provided with a friendly atmosphere which makes it easy to meet new people :-)

Disliked: The only thing we disliked about the hostel were the location, the hostel is located about 20-30 min from Parque Central, but they´re buses leaving just 1min walk from the hostel which will take you downtown in 5-10 min :-)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
41+

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood, walking distance to the main attractions, clean rooms and super helpful staff.

Disliked: Internet was in and out.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This place had a lot of hidden charm that you don't realize until you walk around inside.

Disliked: There were no ceiling fans in the rooms, the bathrooms did not seem very clean and it was very hard to sleep with the traffic noise outside our room

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe place for rest and stay in San Jose

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel! Clean, very nice staff, good kitchen (with a place to buy food neer). Very good location, not too far from the bus stations. The guys at the reception helps with everything.

Disliked: Nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. Hammocks outside. Kitchen facilities. Trying to be nice & thoughtful here, overall not much...

Disliked: 2010 best hostel in Costa Rica? Fat Chance!Price was different from reservation, took some persuading. Key deposit necessary but room key to be returned when leaving (why bother with deposit?). Laundry prices excessive. No AC in room or even any fans - it could get very hot. Common areas right outside of room, could get loud any time of night. Wifi worked on Ipad but not smart phone...weird.Would not return, more hassles & annoyances than justified by the price.


The property's response is

are you sure you stayed here? prices are the same on all the websites we are listed on, in 13 years we have been open we have never required a key deposit, you do not need AC in San Jose, not our fault you do not know how to set up a wifi connection on your smartphone.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great place met some intreesting people made a few freands close to stores and groceries nice area

Disliked: My samsung tablet would not work (not anybodys fault)

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing in particular

Disliked: Despite payment with credit card were accepted in the web page we were added a 5% Besides different staff members applied different exchange rates the same day...And finally we had a private room for 2 with private bathroom but... one of the windows was quite transparet so everybody could see us inside of our room we are a couple so we had to cover the window with a towel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: atmosphere, character

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability