Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Casa Colon San Jose Hostel

Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

SPECIAL OFFER FOR THIS MONTH OF MAY 2013

FAMILY ROOM OR SUPERIOR PRIVATE ROOM $ 60 1 Night 2 PEOPLE WITH BREAKFAST AND TAXES INCLUDED
SUPERIOR PRIVATE ROOM OR FAMILY ROOM $ 165 3 NIGHTS WITH BREAKFAST AND TAXES INCLUDED

SHARED ROOM WITH SHARED BATHROOM $ 14 PER PERSON 1 NIGHT

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 02:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The beds were nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They gave me and my friend a map of where all the bus stations were and high-lighted where we needed to go.

Disliked: There was no kitchen available to use and the toilets and showers were really far away from the room we were staying in. You had to cross through the main lobby and the hostel kitchen area before you got to the toilets and showers. Even then the toilet cubicals were incredibly small! If you were a larger lady you would definitly struggle to get in there. In one of them you have to sit sideways as otherwise my knees were touching the wall!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: LocationInteresting building

Disliked: Including breakfast is great, but it could be a better breakfast eg with fruit

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location, I picked it because I was leaving early to the bus station

Disliked: The hostel is on a main street and is therefore loud.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing old architecture; close to downtown; lots within walking distance

Disliked: Nothing, it was all great.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Love this hostel! Amazing design at excellent price. Will come again

Disliked: All was good. Staff non-english speaking, weren't welcoming or unfriendly (average).

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfortable dorm beds.....lovely lounge area, staff fine.....decent downtown location.....however....

Disliked: Room 101, the 6 bed dorm which I stayed in is rather noisy, as it fronts onto the busy Paseo Colon....and the toilets and showers are quite a way from the room.... Also, the hotel is keen to flaunt its eco credentials....but it's a bridge too far for me when the automatic light in the toilet block only stays on for maybe 20 seconds at most, leaving you in the dark in the" wee room"....and the taps stay on for even less time...insufficient for a decent hand wash. Not a huge deal in the great scheme of things, more of a minor irritation, I suppose. Overall, I would rate this hostel as a 7/10 .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is by far the most beautiful hostel I have ever stayed in. I cannot recommend it enough. After traveling for 3 months, this place was the perfect spot for some R and R and to feel a little less travel grubby. It has all of the benefits of a luxary hotel, but the price of a hostel. Great location, people are friendly and definitely worth a stay!

Disliked: Nothing! Well, actually, there was a little confusion with the breakfast. The menu in the restaurant is different from what is actually provided with the hostel breakfast, and when you sign up for the hostel breakfast that should be made clear. But otherwise, all was great.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Like a nice hotel, cool interior and rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, clean rooms. arranged airport transfer

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a "colonial house" transformed into a Hostel, really nice place to stay

Disliked: Nothing, everything there was really nice, I would totally repeat

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability