Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Casa Colon San Jose Hostel

Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

SPECIAL OFFER FOR THIS MONTH OF MAY 2013

FAMILY ROOM OR SUPERIOR PRIVATE ROOM $ 60 1 Night 2 PEOPLE WITH BREAKFAST AND TAXES INCLUDED
SUPERIOR PRIVATE ROOM OR FAMILY ROOM $ 165 3 NIGHTS WITH BREAKFAST AND TAXES INCLUDED

SHARED ROOM WITH SHARED BATHROOM $ 14 PER PERSON 1 NIGHT

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 02:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: An upscale hostel is cheaper and better than a downscale hotel, and much better. A good place to stay, with clean rooms and friendly staff. They even have a bar.

Disliked: My only complaint is that it is a bit noisy. It is in a busy urban area and they tend to play loud music. However, Juan Pablo, the front desk guy, was really nice about it when I politely asked him to turn it down, and he turned it down for us.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is just a functional place to stop as it's close to the bus station and if you have to spend the night it will do the trick. It's a big place and clean.

Disliked: No vibe here really as it just seemed to be people stopping for the night. The bar when we were there was dead. Maybe it's crazy on the weekends but not when we were there. Bathrooms could be a bit cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location - a short walk from the centre of San Jose. The beds are comfy and the hostel is safe and secure. Great place to spend a day or two in San Jose.

Disliked: The bathrooms were filthy - especially the showers - definitely need to be cleaned more often! The staff weren't very helpful. It appeared as though they must have been doing some renovations as the bar looked as though it was still being built.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The dorm rooms are nice. In general, its a very nice looking hostel. The staff (the day staff) was very helpful!

Disliked: The bathroom. The hostel wasn't full, less than half full. With that in mind, I feel the bathroom could've been cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Safe, quiet at night, at least my room was (206).Hot water at showers.

Disliked: Not a real con, but this is not a party hostel. Few backpackers stay here.It was perfect for a few nights while resting & waiting for my flight.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The building is stunning, the rooms are modern and clean, and very nicely decorated. The staff are phenomenal as well! So friendly, so comfy, and so beautiful. Oh, and the rpice for a hotel in San Jos eis amazing! We've stayed 3 times now, and for 2 people, we get a fabulous room for $45!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very quite

Disliked: Linen was not properly clean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice place. Great decoration and conffortable rooms.They have all the facilitys in the hotel (internet, dinner, drinks, bars, etc.)

Disliked: Nothing..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff was excellent!

Disliked: Our double room was extremely cramped. It was doable for one night, but more than that would have been tough.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability