Website feedback

Reviews of Aldea San Jose San Jose Hostel

Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 84%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Games Room
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

Only cash is accepted on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 84%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nice building with a small outdoor area and kitchen. Large, clean (esp. for Costa Rican standards) rooms and friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice, clean, good location.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Clean, helpful staff. Bar and pizza restaurant attached which was great.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Great pizza restaurant and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The staff was awesome.

Disliked: Sooo many cockroaches and a broken light.


The property's response is

We are happy to know that you were generally pleased with your stay.

Unfortunately, due to tropical climate changes in Costa Rica, sometimes like other households or businesses, we face this type of unpleasant and unexpected situations. We can assure you that cleaning is our first priority in our business and it is a labour-intensive task that we always have to keep business premises clean and hygienic and we also can guarantee that our hostel hperiodically is fumigated every three months.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well run hostel near the bus stations. The rooms might be a bit noisy while the rush hour. But OK.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, helpful staff

Disliked: Fixed hot water times

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is friendly. The location is alright.

Disliked: The room was extremely dark. Small windows, dark red walls, very few and small light sources. Weak wifi.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us and tell us about your experience. We apreciate and are glad that our staff and location were to your liking, however we would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences you came by the room you were provided with. We do our most to acommodate as best we can, however the charm of a charismatic Colonial house has characteristics that are not for everyone. We hope we can make it up to you and that we can provide a better experience next time.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Third time here. Colonial house. Interesting. Fun. Friendly. Relaxed. Slightly eccentric, inc the plumbing, but all works. I've always taken a private room with bathroom - all absolutely adequate. Nice mix of guests, mixed nationalities, some Costa Rican, travellers & others. 10 minute walk to centre of San Jose. Owner extremely friendly, helpful, English speaking if that matters. Pleasant staff. Bonus this time is a small attached restaurant, 'The Corner'. It's a separate business from the Hostal, but in the same building, & works with the hostal. Very simple menu but I swear the empanadas (baked in pizza dough) with salsas, & the pizzas, are amongst the best & freshest I've ever eaten. Long may that continue. Good traveller's choice.

Disliked: Nothing that I personally dislike about this hostal. Be prepared to ignore the occasional missing lightbulb. It doesn't bother me, but if you're a light sleeper you might notice some traffic noise. Alternatively, a couple of glasses of something interesting will subdue that.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Mr. Lazenby,

We thank you very much for your kind words about your visit. We at Aldea pride ourselves in being a little bit like our amazing guests: Fun, friendly, relaxed and eccentric. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our accomodations adequate and to your liking. "The Corner" will be pleased and most grateful to hear from another pleased customer as we hope to welcome you in your travels once again as part of our family.

Check Availability