Website feedback

Reviews of Costa Rica Guesthouse San Jose Hostel

Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr, San Jose, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 83%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Jose?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 83%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was a great place to relax for a quiet stay. I was impressed with the cleanliness and safety. It is fairly centrally located and a easy walk to Mercado Central. The room was nice and felt very comfortable.

Disliked: If you are looking for a very social hostal I would recommend some place else. This is more of a calm atmosphere and seemed to be very family friendly. The WiFi is a bit slow and not always reliable.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice bathroomsBeautiful floorsInterior green space

Disliked: Some rooms are way better than others

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The nice decor and high ceiling. The bed was huge and they had a fan in the room. Also it was quiet during most of stay.

Disliked: They could have cleaned a little better there was hair in the bed and I saw a dead roach. The cabinet in the room smelled a little bad and the TV was very small for the room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is a nice place to stay, comfortable and safe

Disliked: the bathroom of the second floor was not cery clean, we had to shower in the first floor showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The size if the bed

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really good little place to stay. Hot showers, good breakfast, 24 hour reception and a comfortable bed. I was in the dorm but slept beautifully! A little bit of home comforts and peace and quiet for a smelly backpacker!

Disliked: Need milk for the coffee in the morning. That is it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: At low cost we had a very clean, large room with private bathroom and everything you need in it! Good WiFi, a Tourist Desk with good information, breakfast included and the whole day coffee and tea free. What do you want more?

Disliked: We gave the Taxidriver the address: Avenida 6, Calle 25, 100 norte, 25 oeste and the name of the church nearby, but it took him very long to find it, and he had to ask for it several times. So my advice is not to mention the name of the church, but: "very near to the National Museum".

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We chose Costa Rica Guesthouse because the tour guide we were meeting next day recommended it, AND because they offered secure auto storage while we went away for a night.I was sure I had asked for 2 beds but we were given a room with one double, apparently the only one available, and told there were none with 2, although the website says there were.Our checked bage didn't arrive in Liberia with us, so we left this address to have them brought to. They weren't there when we returned, and Carlos went far above and beyond to help us track them down. He made many phone calls and helped keep us in the right direction to recover them, staying calming and positive the whole time. He was terrific!!

Disliked: We couldn't get towels(remember, we had no luggage), there was no hot water, and one of the desk staff spoke very little English.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The room we stayed in was very large. It was very private. We felt very safe and secure.

Disliked: The location was questionable but we didn't stay an extended time to explore. The host was not overly helpful, but was not rude. He was able to give us a recommendation for dinner and called a taxi for us in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed here after arriving from the UK and wanted to have a nap before hitting the city. Unfortunately it was not a great place to sleep in the day as the noise of the local train was alarmingly loud, not to mention the man that suddenly appeared measuring our bedroom window! I guess it's our own fault for sleeping during the day!Our room was decorated beautifully and we were amazed at the size of the bathroom, it was a lovely layout and we were very happy with it. Having said this, opening the blinds meant that the street had a great view of us which felt very public so we were forced to leave the blinds shut most of the time which was a shame. In terms of location, we struggled to find reasonably priced restaurants to eat in at night which left us wandering the dark streets in search of one, although it seems there are more options during the day. The staff were very friendly and even made us breakfast earlier than they were supposed to. They were always there to answer our queries and made us feel very welcome.

Disliked: The location wasn't great, it was hard to find restaurants at night and it didn't feel safe walking around at night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability