Website feedback

Reviews of Monteverde Backpackers Monteverde Hostel

Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

Check in anytime between 11am and 9pm
Check out time : 10:00am

Front desk open from 7 am until 9 pm, after 9pm we have a security guard all night long, so people who are staying in our hostel can come in and out anytime.

Quiet hours is after 10pm, whoever if you wants to go out, drink, party and have fun, that's ok with us out side of our Hostel, but we want everyone when they come back to the hostel, to be quiet and go to bed, not to be noisy because other people will be sleeping by then.

please email us in case you need to modify your reservation / Hostel will keep your room until the arrival time chosen at the time of booking. If you are arriving late, please contact the hostel directly. Otherwise your reservation may be cancelled.

We don't accept over 40 years old in a dormitory room, in private rooms are more than welcome.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Monteverde?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Dorm had only four beds, the shower was warm and had plenty of water pressure. The staff was really nice and willing to answer all of your questions. Next to that a nice common area which is inviting to mingle. We ended up having a BBQ with almost everyone staying there!

Disliked: The bathroom was old and falling apart, definitely needs an update.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: They will organize any excursion available in the area for you and have someone come and pick you up. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not the greatest common area in the world but there was room for about 12 of us to hang out, play cards and drink wine.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The staff were brilliant at recommending and booking amazing trips. Breakfast was included- eggs!

Disliked: We were put in a room in a separate apartment block as they had clearly oversold the dorms. Although it was nice to have our own room, it was pretty grimy and had some very noisy neighbors who chatted loudly at night- waking us up.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast included

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Monteverde backpackers was unreal, the location was perfect. It was located right near a supermarket, and the bus stop. The hostel staff were super helpful and lovely. I would 100% stay here again

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: A small hostal - 2 dorms and 3 rooms, no party hostel. I liked everything: location, clean dorms with ensuite bathroom, hot wather, great breakfast, very helpful staff, 2 cute dogs, little garden with hamacas :) I really enjoyed my stay there (despite the rainy weather) Gracias!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is in a great location; basically in town. Less than 5 minutes from where the bus drops you off. The staff is helpful and you can book tours right at the hostel and they will call the tour company to come pick you up. The hostel itself was clean and felt secure (there were also lockers in the dorm rooms). Breakfast consists of cereal and fruit.

Disliked: No complaints, this was one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in Monteverde. Close to supermarket. Room is clean, with our own bathroom. Good shower.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay at Monteverde Backpackers. Alonso and the rest of the staff took care of me and helped me book all of my tours - zip lining, bungee etc - and took me to nearby hikes, restaurants and festivals and we even had a BBQ! The rooms were clean, free internet, lockers, hot showers, breakfast and coffee were served in the morning, the other guests were friendly and fun and I felt completely safe even though it was my first time traveling alone. The grocery store and a bunch of other restaurants were just up the block. This place made me fall in love with Costa Rica!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability