Website feedback

Reviews of Cool Vibes Beach Hostel Dominical Hostel

Main Street, 100m south of el Restaurante el Coco, Dominical, Costa Rica

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 97%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please note:
Check in at 11am
Check out at 11am

Cancellation Policy 2 days
Only cash as payment upon arrival

Breakfast not included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dominical?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 96%

Value 97%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


01 May 2018

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Everything.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: It was nice to have a lot of hammocks hanging around and lots of places to chill. Also, it was a nice location with a shower outside for when you get back from the beach, which was nice.

Disliked: Only that the music from the downstairs bar was so loud and sometimes really bad. But that's how it goes.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I enjoyes the fact that the hostel is open-air. You fall asleep listening to the waves and wake up to a view of the beach. There is a great atmosphere and all of the guests/hosts are very friendly.

Disliked: I liked everything about it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hosts - a French couple! Super chill and very clean. Right across from the beach.

Disliked: There's construction going on when I stayed and that was very loud to wake up to.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our place despite the noise of the construction.
A new restaurant will be open soon. However, this restaurant is not part of Cool Vibes Hostel and remain a diferent business.
Pura Vida

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The main chillout area and dorms were open air facing towards the beach, gives the place a nice communal, relaxed vibe. All dorm beds had insect netting. The doorways to each dorm was made of colourful tapestries and banners.

Disliked: Not right in the town. While only a 5min walk from the main part of town, there is a stretch of road between the town and the hostel that is absolutely pitch black at night (I used the flashlight on my phone so I could even see if I was still on the road). Not the best feeling for solo female travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's located right at the beach in Dominical and close to shops and the bus stop. The best is that the whole house is open to all sides, which gives you the feeling of sleeping in the jungle and right at the beach at the same time. All beds have mosquito nets which is totally necessary (pack mosquito spray!!!).The couple that owns the hostel is wonderful. Celina and Sri are such friendly and helpful people. Sri opened my locker immediately when I ran late for my bus and had lost my key for it. Apart from tha the hostel is incredibly clean and the security policy is strict

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Availability, location, and facility.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was across from the beach, there are plenty of boards to choose from, Sri and Celine are great people, and no roaches. There are two lounge areas, the font gets the best Wifi and the rear room has hammocks and cushions for chillin. The kitchen and tv areas are nice for really getting to know others!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What an incredible little gem in Dominical! I have stayed in hostels all around the world, and I can honestly say this is one of my favorites. A two minute walk into the main area of Dominical-shops, restaurants-and a two second walk across the street to the beach. The whole hostel is open, so if you're expecting a lot of privacy or ac, this is not the place for you....but if you're like me, the atmosphere is perfect. I felt like I was camping in style! At night you could hear the ocean waves, geckos and frogs. The surfer crowd that was staying there was awesome...early to bed, early to rise, always up for a beer and good conversation. The owners Sri and Celine, a super cute French couple, were constantly cleaning and chit chatting with the guests. I loved this place and am already planning my next trip back!! Thanks for a great stay Sri and Celine!

Disliked: The mattresses and pillows were a bit worn down...but you hardly noticed after a great day on the beach:)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owners were super nice and friendly; they were constantly cleaning and looking after the place. Cool vibes is an extremely comfortable and fun place to stay!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability