Website feedback

Reviews of The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel Medellin Hostel

Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles., Medellin, Colombia

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 85%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Utensils
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Medellin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 85%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 128 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is a very chilled hostel, with bar (!), close to the metro and La Setanta, a good area for eating and drinking establishments! The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Definitely worth a stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The Wandering Paisa hostel was a key factor in what made my stay in Medllin the great time that it was! The staff was incrediable friendly and always available to help me with any questions that had with a smile on their face. It was a very clean hostel with very comfortable beds and clean showers with hot water! I loved the location as well because it is located very close to the metro which gives you great access to all the different parts of the city. It is also is located just a block away from one of the best local streets to hang out on! The Wandering Paisa hostel offered a great environment to meet fellow travelers, celebrate, but also relax! I highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful when asked. Fellow travelers were enjoyable and a blast to hang out with. The hostel itself was thoroughly cleaned daily and always in good condition.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, good social events, nice location in the center of everything and extremely helpful bilingual staff

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Super friendly and helpful receptionist, nice little roof patio.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: I had a great stay at Wandering Paisa. All staff and other travellers were very friendly and there is a good atmosphere in the hostel. The manager has a really good range of events going on and its a great place to meet up with other Colombians who regularly turn up for events like language exchange, free salsa and karaoke. Another good thing was the location. The hostel is in a great part of town called laureles which i think is a lot more interesting than Poblado where the majority of hostels are. Its easier to meet Colombians and practice spanish whilst also having its share of backpackers and travelers. I would definitely recommend the hostel as a good place to stay in and base from which to get to know Medellin.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is in a great location.. very close to Estadio metro station, so the whole city is easily accessible, and if you like sports you can utilize all of the facilities at the stadium for free. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Nice kitchen. Comfortable beds. But the best thing about the hostel is the weekly events that draw plenty of locals, along with a slew of other gringos who aren't staying in the hostel. The Paisa is a perfect spot to begin your Medellin adventure and make some new friends!

Disliked: Got a bit overcrowded on the weekends.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Not located in the tourist zone, so there was more interaction with the locals!

Disliked: The staff was somewhat helpful, but it was too loud most of the time! In addition, they seem to promote drinking, where as I prefer a safer alternative(that is discouraged here)!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Alcohol and Caffeine are the only major legal substances allowed in Colombia by Colombian law. We do not promote the use of cocaine, marijuana or other drugs that you might characterize as safer because they are illegal and the money used to purchase these substances in Colombia can support gangs ,paramilitaries and guerillas. We have a duty to uphold the Colombian law and we therefore do not tolerate any illegal substances. Sorry you were inconvenienced by our policy.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, and well organized. They have social activities in the evening which attract many locals. Spacious and well equipped kitchen. Cheap beers I the bar. The owner is often present in the hostal, making sure everyone's happy. Open mic night on saturdays atracts a lot of good local musicians. That was my favorite experience. The surroundings are also very nice. With the great sports center, the soccer stadium 4 blocks down the street by the metrostation. A ten minute walk brings you to the foot of cerro el volador that has fantastic panorama view of Medellin.Staying at the wandering paisa is a great adventure, and Im very happy I could live there a whole week.

Disliked: only thing that could be better is that you have to pay for using the computers, and i think this should be a free service.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Love, love, love the wandering paisa. This place had such a great vibe to it, amazing people and the staff were incredible. I would not stay anywhere else in medellin. I had an unfortunate incident where my bag got stolen when I was out and they were amazing to help me in these circumstances.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability