Website feedback

Reviews of Tree House Hostel Getsemani Cartagena Hostel

Calle San Antonio 25 - 99, Cartagena, Colombia

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 62%

Location 94%

Safety 72%

Staff 75%

Value 68%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cartagena?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 62%

Location 94%

Safety 72%

Staff 75%

Value 68%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating


07 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is in the centre of the city

Disliked: I booked a shared bedroom for four people on hostelbookers. When I arrived this room was not available. Instead I had to stay in a room for ten people. I complainef about this but they would not listen. Furthermore they charged me too much for my stay. I paid because I had no other choice. For those who appreciate clearity, reliabiliy and honesty this could be the wrong hostel.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Clean rooms with A/C, great location

Disliked: Quite expensive, room was very small, bathroom noises are bwing shared with everyone in the room

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The hostel is tiny and the dorms and bathrooms don't have real doors or windows so there is absolutely no privacy. The pathetic fans in the rooms do nothing so it was difficult to sleep in such heat. Some beds are smaller and more uncomfortable then others so like us you may be unlucky and get the horrible little bunk beds.We also had clothes stolen from the bathroom. In general the atmosphere wasn't very friendly. We booked for 3 nights but In the end we prefered to go somewhere else and lose money then to stay there.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere of the place is very particular all the decoration is in recyclable materials . the location is in getsemani the best place to stay in the old city . The street is very safe as the hostal is in front of a police station. In conclusion a good place for the money paid.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice place cozy,it has great ubication just in the center of getsemani , the best value for the money that I pay, congrats to the owner

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Estuve en enero y francamente han cambiado para mejorar varias cosas que tenían pendientes, los baños son más privados y cómodos hay un buen restaurante peruano en el hostal y el ambiente es tranquilo y relajado, lo mejor del hostal es la ubicación lo suficientemente lejos de la rumba para poder dormir pero estando dentro del barrio getsemani y a una cuadra de la plaza la Trinidad

Disliked: Nada en especial

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We met some wonderful people here but the place and staff were sadly lacking. The location is supberd, right beside San Antonio Square of the trinity or Igleas San Antonio Trinidad.

Disliked: The toilet doors dont close and face the showers which also have little or no privacy so as you sit on the toilet the man in the shower cannot only see you but you can see him. The bedrooms have no security, no locks on the doors and no glass panes in the windows, the windows are sheets of cloth and rope. The staff were terrible, they asked us everyday several times if we had paid, we paid in full on arrival which is their policy so asking us 9 times in three days was exhausting. You also wear a wristband with the name of the hostel while you are there like a music festival wrist band. This means when you go out everyone you meet can see where you are staying and as there are no locks and zero security it makes it impossible to relax. Do not stay here. It is overpriced and underserviced. Also they turn on the TV at 7am in the court yard and as the windows have no glass you can hear it, the only fan in the place was for the reception staff none for the guests.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I wanted to like this hostel because of their eco-friendly attitude but I can't really say anything good about the hostel, except that the location was good.

Disliked: Firstly, we booked a 10 bed dorm. When we arrived we were put into a dorm with 15 beds. It was so cramped that you couldn't even stand between some of the bunks and there were beds right next to each other, almost like doubles. The room was not big enough for this many beds, people and luggage. About half of the mattresses were thin FOAM so a very uncomfortable! By the end they even put up another camp bed, taking up more room. There were not enough lockers for everyone - only about 5 for 15 people. The room wasn't air conditioned either so taking up what little floor space there was were big floor fans. The kitchenette was extremely under-equiped - no lighter for the gas top, no microwave, toaster etc. The bathrooms were very small and cramped as well. I'm not tall at all and had to wear a bikini top in the shower because the shower walls came up to barely my shoulders. All of the other girls were doing the same. The staff were unhelpful. We asked for a map on our first day and for them to call us a taxi to the bus station and both times they couldn't. We have been travelling around Central and South America for a few months now and this was the worst hostel that we've stayed in so far

Check Availability