Website feedback

Reviews of Explora Hostels Bogota Hostel

Calle 12c # 3 -19, Bogota, Colombia

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bogota?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 81%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 52 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect! the staff were so friendly and helpfull, it was a pleasure to stay there and thats why I stayed more nights.The hostel were clean and very welcoming, they served breakfast (someone cook your eggs just the way you like it). I would recomend this place to anybody that go to Bogota, Colombia! :)

Disliked: it was really cold in there.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: + The rooms are quite newly renovated.+ The hot shower works even with decent water pressure.

Disliked: - Dishonest personal.- No privacy in the room.- Very few space (one chair and a small table) for your stuff.- Unfriendly service personal for breakfast.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. At Explora Hostels we are always looking forward to customer feedback. Nevertheless, we have followed up with our staff members and they didn't report anything about your booking. We would like to encourage our guests to give us active feedback when they are at our hostel in order to solve problems as soon as possible. Regarding the space in the room we are putting in some closet space for our guests; so thanks for that insider tip. Happy travels! From Explora!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is in a good location. It is nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable. The hot showers really are hot (not luke warm like some other hostels). There is also free tea and coffee.

Disliked: The common area gets pretty cold in the evenings.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Está muy bien ubicado, se puede ir caminando a los puntos turísticos. El staff es muy amable, siempre dispuesto si uno solicita algo, por ejemplo cuando les pedimos que limpiaran nuestra pieza y baño lo hicieron. El desayuno es muy rico y el hostel en sí es nuevo, las camas y baños son muy cómodos.

Disliked: No tuvimos ningún inconveniente.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a fairly new hostel ad so everything looks and feels brand new. What that also means is that the toilet and shower facilities are great and the hot water is even better. The rooms are congregated along a long corridor which is covered but still somewhat outdoors. This is very common for hostels in Peru and Colombia. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom on the ground floor and it was great. The rooms were quite tiny but for he price you really cant complain. Sheets were clean and warm. There is an option of hiring a heater if you think your going to get cold.To give you an idea of cleanliness everytime someone had showered in the morning the lady who prepares the breakfast went up and cleaned the shower floors for the next!This hostel is very reasonably priced compared to other hostels and will save you a mint on sleeping in a double.Breakfast was average but included scrambled eggs which is a bonus.

Disliked: Although it is not always the responsibiity of the hostel nightwatchman to police/manage the noise at night I gotta say that on our second night we had trouble sleeping. There was a large spanish group in the combined area drinking their own drinks till very early in the morning. Noise happens but just didnt add to the experience. Also a tip for the receptionist, please dont wear high heels, these can be heard throughout the hostel as you walk up and down the corridor 1st thing in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a really clean and new hostel, breakfast included and a great and helpful staff. Made a phone call to the airport to confirm information about a visa, very good service

Disliked: So cold at night at the common area, the whole-way is a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, hot water and as much as you like, comfy beds, decent breakfast and wifi!!!Also staff who speak a little English helped us out a lot.

Disliked: Cold eating area was really the only little thing that could be improved.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We were really well welcomed on arrival and the staff were particularly helpful and flexible (especially Laura :-))Also, the place is almost brand new and everything is super clean, being the showers, toilets or the rooms.The breakfast is included and we can choose eggs as you want them.The common area is pleasant too!

Disliked: Nothing, exept that the did not think about deducting what we paid through hostelbookers but that's common!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location (though I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around at night. Very clean and modern. Fantastically warm, powerful and spacious showers. Friendly staff who speak good English. I would stay again.

Disliked: They say breakfast is from 7 but we had to leave at 7:20 and there was still no sign of it. It is chilly at night so is a bit annoying that the communal ares and corridors are outside. It costs to hire a towel and they are tiny. The only electricity outlet is behind the bed so you can't have the bed against the wall if something is plugged in. All very minor grumbles, still definitely worth staying.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location! Easy walking distance to Transmilenio and numerous museums, sites and restaurants. WIfi was top notch! The staff was very helpful. Plenty of blankets for cold mornings. Hot water for the shower was excellent. Coffee was yummy. Wanted it con leche each time and the hot milk was much appreciated.

Disliked: I wished that breakfast offered a juice, coffee, fruit muesli and yogurt option. I got tired of eggs and toast w/ coffee each day. But my husband loved the eggs and toast each day.A better map of the area would help a lot.If the shower curtain was a bit wider, the bathroom floor wouldn't get so slippery. Also ... some non stick stuff would help with the slippery floors in the bath and shower areas when they are wet.Other hostels we've been in around the world have a large notebook/guestbook prominently displayed so that travelers can read and write about others' opinions and experiences. We think this would help. It's fun to read about others' experiences and write about our own... both good and bad regarding restaurants, sites, tours,etc.--- maybe one online would work as well.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability