Website feedback

Reviews of Anda Guesthouse Hohhot Hostel

Qiaokao Xi Jie, Saihan District, Hohhot, China

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 79%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • FLEXIBLENRR
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hohhot?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 79%

Location 78%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 35 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great and the room was very large and spacious. Security was also very good with keyless entry doors that you had to have a card to scan to open. First one I've seen like that. It is the best hostel/guesthouse I've stayed in so far. Highly recommend.

Disliked: There were only a couple problems, one was the water flow in the showers were horrible. At most it was a trickle. That definetly needs to be addressed. The other was not being able to lock your room door from the outside. When we went out it could not be locked. You could lock it from the inside at night but not during the day. I didn't fear leaving my things except I did get a locker from them to put my electronics in.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: bathroom is dirty, staff put pressure on selling in house tours...not worth the money, location impossible to find

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's quite cosy, especially for backpackers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, easy to arrange tours

Disliked: Average showers

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good english speaking stuff who could solve any problem with a smile。

Disliked: If you arrange a ticket for the train make sure have the ticket in advance。。。 big troubel at the train station with seat reservation!!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - This is a guesthouse, so had a very nice cozy feel to it. Felt like you were staying in somebody's home instead of an actual hostel, so that was great!!- The Owner is a very cool person!! He's very friendly, knows a lot about Mongolian Culture (he's Mongolian after all), and cares about the guests. He picked me up/dropped me off the airport at 60rmb each way, which is quite decent. - Free/fast wifi throughout the guesthouse.- Washrooms were clean with toilet paper- Rooms were warm inspite of cold weather. - TV with tons of western/Chinese channels, I actually enjoyed watching MTV China and V China instead of the typical CCTV for a change. - Food street right next to the guesthouse.- Pretty clean and awesome turtles in the room!- Mongolian atmosphere of the guesthouse

Disliked: - As it was winter, most activities/tours (such as going to the desert and visiting Mongolian family) wasn't possible. - A safe-box could be helpful.- Plan something social for people in hostel. I realize it was winter so there were few people, but something would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff and nice tours. Good beer price. Free breakfast. Warm and cosy rooms

Disliked: City itself is not very interesting, mattresses are thin, no real bar/common room, just a living room with tv

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been staying in many hostels since 2003 and this is one of the best experiences I have had. Staff speak very good english and are very friendly. They will adopt you and make you part of their family during your stay. They are not actually related but are very close friends and love working here and meeting foreigners. I arranged airport pickup/dropoff for 60RMB each way. Staff all live onsite so hostel is very well kept, not like a student dorm. Beds were very comfortable. They will give you a sheet with local bus numbers to tell you to get to the local temples, mosque, museum, and train station. In the evening they may have a mongolian hotpot with traditional singalong and games. There is a street full of restaurants that open in the evening across from the street the hostel is on. Internet is 4RMB an hour or 1RMB each 15 mins. Hotmail was working but facebook is blocked in china. I did the overnight grasslands tour. You can also ride horses for an hour for an extra 65RMB. Yurt was nice, it had electricity, a light bulb, and a socket to charge my batteries. There are many tourist theme parks but they take you to an actual family home on the grasslands. The guides will stay overnight in the home so you are not left alone. Take warmer clothing, its quite windy, and wet wipes as there are no bathrooms or running water. I definatly loved my stay and would love to go again to do their desert trek and great wall tour, if only the china visa wasnt such a hassle. Ignore some of the bad reviews on this site. Their entire stairwell is covered in comments from happy travellers from all over the world. This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in my many years of travelling and I would definately go again. The other travellers I met from USA and Canada had no complaints either and were enjoying their stay which was longer than my 3 days here.

Disliked: Tours need a minimum of two people from the hostel so have some flexibility in your schedule if you are travelling alone.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good organised tours. Shared bathrooms within very easy reach and not shared by too many.

Disliked: Not sure if they had free wi-fi

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The character ; really friendly, everybody eating in the kitchen gives like a feeling of family. The services are really good, and the tours great !

Disliked: Even if I didn't feel insecure in this hostel, it would be better if the room doors can be closed.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability