Website feedback

Reviews of This Old Place International Youth Hostel Guilin Hostel

No.2 Yiwu Road, Guilin, China

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 95%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Important Information

Cancellation policy: 3 days advance notice for free cancellation. 【Special conditions: During the holidays in 2017(Jan.28th to Feb.1st, Apr.2nd-3rd, Apr.29th-30th, May.29th-30th,Oct.1st-Oct. 7th), it is 7 days advance notice for free cancellation】

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guilin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 85%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 95%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: good location, close to one of the lakes staff super helpful, knew basically everything about the sightseeing spots and how to get there - air con in the room worked well, so temperatur was comfortable, even though it was quite cold outside - common area looked quite nice, but it was too cold there to actually spent time there - stayed in a 4-female dorm, nothing special, showers and toilet were seperate - cleanliness alright

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The family room was perfect. It was two rooms, a sofa, two armchairs and a table. We enjoyed the room, the friendliness of the staff and he location by the lake. It was also good that they had a laundry service and booked a tour for us. We liked everything about the hostel. Out of five hostels, we stayed in in China, it was the best.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really clean and big dorms

Disliked: No hand soap anywhere

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, staff- very helpful. Vpn computer! :)

Disliked: Toilets and showers of dorms- not enough, most are not western and no locks sometimes..

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: not much to say here, the general conditions are very good!

Disliked: Unfortunately I made two rather unpleasant experiences here.The hostel only offers mixed dorms, which is okay but I ended up in a room with four guys although there were plenty of other female visitors. The guys in my room came in the other night and despite the fact that I was sleeping they turned on the lights and started a noisy conversation for about 15 minutes, when I finally was not able to sleep anymore they started to ask me questions although I was apparently not in my best mood at that point. I know that this is not only the hostels fault but I think they should encourage their visitors to behave more considered.On my last day I asked the staff how to get to the bus station to the rice terraces and the only advice they had for me was to take a taxi. I then figured the way out on my own and it is very easy to get there with public transport. Another girl took their advice and almost missed the bus because the taxi driver didn't know...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: great character, good location next to the lake, amazingly good bikes for hire, beautiful roof terrace with laundry drying facility, very friendly staff

Disliked: staff spoke poor english, problematic when arriving late cause the night staff doesn't speak English, rooms are dark and the view from the back rooms is not nice

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful!

Disliked: There was no towel provided

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location. Nice and pretty room. Good bathroom with separated shower. Nice roof top terrace and cool lobby. Useful room for luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Staff. Always had to wait at reception while staff continued to do whatever they were doing on the computer before they would attend to us. Said they couldn't call a taxi for us to get to the train station-it was too expensive to phone. 4 different people have us 4 different directions/bus numbers to go to Longji terraces, so we we're confused and didn't know how to get there. When asked about where a vegetarian restaurant was, got the response 'it's near the temple'. We couldn't find it with those directions. All in all, not very helpful, we felt we were being a nuisance asking them anything.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Throughout China this is the best hostel we stayed in. The stuff speaks very good English and is always ready to help. The rooms are spacious and perfectly clean (amazing, nee and clean bathrooms!). The location is optimal (15 min by bus to the bus/ train station), shopping street and the lakes within 10 min walk.The hostel offers tasty breakfast for 20 yuan and several cool trips. It is lokated just by the lake which you can watch while chilling on the rooftop. Super nice place to stay.

Disliked: I liked everything!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability