Website feedback

Vancouver Backpacker House Guesthouse

7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC, Vancouver, Canada

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 71%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 88%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Free Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Microwave

Important Information

7 night maximum stay.

1.We do not accept children under 14 years old.
2. The balance of 85% needs to be paid in cash upon arrival. There is 7% service charge on top of the balance by using credit card.
3. 100 percent of the first night will be charged if no show or cancellation less than 48 hrs. before arrival Date. Booking amendment and cancellation must be informed by email only. No booking amendment is less than 48 hrs. or on/after check in Date which means all the rent monies are non-refundable and non-transferable for early check out or cancellation, and the credit card provided by the booking guests will be charged if there are damage or loss from VBH property. The policy also applied to extended stay guests.

4. Bookings of 2 or more persons make in dormitory rooms are NOT guaranteed to be in the same room at the time of check in.

5. 10 people mixed dorm room is in the basement. Single bed private room's window is facing inside.

6. Please contact us if your arrival time at the Backpacker House is later than 7pm or on the arrival time you provided online we may assume you are cancelling the booking if we do not see you.

7. Self-check in maybe sometime required. We have 4 buildings and all in walking distance. A self-check into different building is required.

8. Winter promotion-- the free night should be a consecutive night after 6 days of booking. This promotion is applied to the first time stay with VBH guests, and does not include extended period of time. The date of this promotion will be updated every year on the website.

9. No group booking over 6 people.

10. 16% tax not included.

11. We try our best to lowdown the rent rate, so you can stay in a budgeted boarding house. Please prepare your own essentials and own personal hygiene items such as shampoo and towel..etc.

12.Check out time: anytime before 11am

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vancouver?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 74%

Location 71%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: stuff is super nice.Its an easy place to travel everywhere , close to the train and mall.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I feel like home. its quite and clean.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The female dormitory was a mess. I shared the room with two other people who had stayed there for a while already and the room was full of their stuff intruding my space. The room stank badly and did not get cleaned at all. There was only one shower/toilet room on each floor and they give you one toilet paper roll when you check in no matter how long your stay is. Many people soon run out of toilet paper. I was supposed to stay there for five days but it got to a point that I couldn't bear the unhygienic conditions of the room after three days. I moved to a hotel and asked if I could get a refund for the last night, the owner said no. When I complained about the untidiness of the place he just said that that's what a dormitory is like. Believe me I have travelled in Nepal, india Turkey and many other European countries and experienced countless dormitory rooms, but this was the worst. In addition, the manager's rarely on the spot, and people hardly lock the front door of the room door, which made it feel insecure.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We stayed in another flat, not the hostel itself but it's been a nice stay. It is a cheap and basic accomodation, close to the skyline train station and the shopping centre.

Disliked: The windows aren't very safe but lockers are provided. If you're travelling on a budget it' ideal. Don't expect a luxury hotel though!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very comfortable, clean, compact building, nice staff (Diego). great customer service since i arrived in evening and no problem checking in.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Privacity

Disliked: Overall visual

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was very close to public transportation. It's a cute little house with a great atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Convenient location and free parking option.

Disliked: NA

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good value for money...

Disliked: ...which means low price for low quality. Location is quite far off, cleanliness was acceptable at best

Check Availability