Website feedback

Reviews of HI Niagara Falls Hostel Niagara Falls Hostel

4549 Cataract Ave., Niagara Falls, Niagara Falls, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 91%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note: 13% Tax is applied at check-n time.
A government photo ID is required to check-in.

Rates quoted assume guests are members of Hostelling International (HI). Non-members can buy a membership card onsite or pay an additional fee of $5 per night, per person (shared room) or $10 (private room).
Opening hours: 8am to Midnight. (June until October 31st)
8am to 10 pm (November - April)

For reservations of more than 4 days, the hostel requires a deposit of 50% in order to confirm the booking. The hostel will contact directly the guest in order to make arrangements using a valid credit card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Niagara Falls?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 91%

Location 81%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, great recreation room in the basement. The hostel is really close to the bus Station so if you have heavy bags this is great! Rooms had enough space, lockers and control of your own heating/air con which was convenient.

Disliked: I'm not sure how they organize online bookings as they didn't seem to have all the information that other hostels I have booked through this site had. They were firstly trying to charge me almost double what I was notified of by email. They had no record of my deposit, after showing my confirmation email to them 3 times I was told that it was their mistake as I was being charged for a different room and should have stated my room type. I would have thought this was specified in my original booking as it was in my confirmation email. Once this was sorted they also offered to email my receipt. He didn't have my email address hitch I thought unusual. I wrote it down for him but have yet to receive it 24 hours later. I'm sure this was either a misunderstanding but it was hugely inconvenient as it took 20 mins to check in and pay the correct price. We asked about transport to the falls (as nothing is posted on info boards) and were told it had ended for the night. We walked the 30 mins to the falls and the public transport passed us twice. Not very helpful information! Nice hostel but just needs to be a little more efficient.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Home away from away . Nice place to sit and relax and be to yourself.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. .may be some group evening activity to bring all guest to mingle

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is prime and the atmosphere is so welcoming!

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My stay here was great. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about different activities around the area and look eating. The guy at the front desk when I checked in gave me great info on local trails to hike and the best way to check out the falls. He even knew where the best parking deals were. They have lots of neat activities going on and also rent bikes. There is a bike tour on Sundays, I wish I had had the time to do it. Rooms are clean and linens provided on your bed with plugs, shelves and lamps for each bunk (in the 6 bed dorm I was in). The free breakfast is decent.Overall, it was a great place to stay.

Disliked: The location could be a challenge if you don't have a car. It worked out great for me since I had one, but it is a decent 30 min walk to the falls and to the trails. The good news is they rent bikes so as long as you have some time on your hands you should be okay.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Plugs and lamp and wall table beside every single bunk bed. This always wins with me. Homey, nice wooden warm feel. This is nice for me and has more character than the HIs that are huge dorms with a million floors and a bit lacking in warmth. Warm smaller atmosphere made it nice to meet some great people I spent a beautiful evening with at the hostels barbecue. Very nice staff.

Disliked: Located in a place that is somewhat deserted in the immediate 15-min walk vicinity. You can do the walk each day to the main area and stay out all day or get a bus ticket.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location close to the bus station

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly staff, and great outdoor area. Clean rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: No many plug sockets in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The staff moved anther guest yet to arrive so the three of us would have the quad bunk room to ourselves.

Disliked: A little sketchy looking from the outside; neighborhood

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: It is located very close to the bus station for easy arrival an departure. Good friendly staff to help reccomend all there is to see other than the falls. Large kitchen to prepare meals. If you like walking its an easy 35-40 walk down to the fall along the river with some nice views.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, will organised

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability