Website feedback

Reviews of Auberge L'Apero Montreal Hostel

1425 Mackay, Suite 2, Montreal, Canada

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 79%

Value 82%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Price includes all taxes. Our front-desk is open from 10:00AM to 8:00PM. Check in starts at 1:00PM but you can come as early as 10:00AM to drop off your bags. If you think you may arrive after opening hours, let us know and we'll explain to you how to do a self-check-in. 2.5% surcharge for Visa/Mastercard.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 79%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 79%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating


13 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Free breakfast until noon

Disliked: Snoaring people aha

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff unhelpful


The property's response is

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. Second, we would like to apologize if there was an issue with staff, we will communicate with you and resolve this situation!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: not special

Disliked: not special

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The breakfast was good and bed sizes nice

Disliked: Showers are very small, credit cards are charged if paid by credit card jeopardising the finance of budget travellers, the one linen per bed is bad and it can be very good if each traveller upon checking in be given house rules like no noise at late nights

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience! Unfortunately we would disagree that the showers are very small; they are certainly not meant for 2 people but are nicely sized by North American standards. We do charge 2.5% surcharge for credit cards as we are a budget hostel and this is the only way to offer this payment method to our guests; please note it is possible to withdraw cash from your card at an ATM and pay us in cash thus no fee to pay! After checkout we noticed this guest didn't use the sheets properly but rather used them as a pillow. Thanks again for coming and hope you give us a chance again when in Montreal :)

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: location

Disliked: crumbling old house; no lock on dorm door; many long term residents (working/studying) instead of backpacking tourists; oven out of commission; micro-wave hardly functioning; creepy resident having shower at 3am in the morning; a young couple sleeping on the living room sofa ; this 3 storey house should be torn down long time ago!!


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sincerely sorry that we didn't meet you standards!

We do have a good mix of different type of residents such as backpackers, guests on a work holiday and volunteers. The oven (not stove-top) is not available for security reasons. The micro-wave works just fine.

Our showers are available 24h a day which we see as a feature. Our living room is also accessible 24h, this means there's always somewhere to go for those who don't want to sleep or may have difficulty sleeping in the dorm.

It's a bit extreme to wish the destruction of this 1800s brownstone, but you are free to your opinion.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The easy going attitude at the hostel and its location. Good breakfast. Free internet. TV that you can watch. Books you can exchange.

Disliked: Noisy beds.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us! Hope to see you again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It had a great location, really helpful staff and the common area was nice and chilled.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thanks for sharing your experience at Auberge L'Apero in Montreal. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the future :)

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Specially the location, near two metro stations

Disliked: The front view of the place is a little scary and the stairs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Auberge L'Apero! We are indeed in a very convenient location, near 2 subway lines making it very easy to travel around the city and coming back easily to your resting place after a day of exploring! You know what they say: can't judge a book by its cover ;)

Hope to have the pleasure to host you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Self check in is very good if arriving late your linen is left for you at the front desk you. There is parking on the street that you don't have to pay for after 2100 and you begin paying at 0900.

Disliked: The place does not seem very secure I would not leave stuff lying around just lock it up in the lockers. Anybody can get into the mixed room area without a key.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: staff very unfriendly and very unexperienced with international guest, too young, made a lot of mistakes, were not here when necessary, talked with very rude words in front of me, not very secure, they let in any kind of people.

Check Availability