Website feedback

Garden Village Guest House Guesthouse

#434, Steng Thmei Village, Svay Dongkum commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Café
  • Ceiling fan
  • Children's Play Area"
  • Currency Exchange
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 78%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 74 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were amazing, and the cold showers a needed reprieve from the Cambodian heat.

Disliked: The pool was a bit warm (more like a bath) - but thats what happens when its out in the beating sun all day.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the property is very good. the stuff is helpful, no problems to find someone speaking english (maybe french but we didn't check). the location is perfect. it is really situated on a calm kmer street very-very close to the streat with small bars and restaurants, markets, old market and other necessary things. about room styling, cleanliness and everything else, well fine, but we pay 5.50 per person per night, for this money everything was cool.

Disliked: we didn't find any disadvantages duaring our two-nights stay.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap and Cheerful

Disliked: Make sure you have a lock and then you can lock your stuff away!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pool, cheap breakfast

Disliked: Unfriendly staff, didn't get the room I booked although I already paid a percentage of it to hostelbookers. They promised to get it the next day, but even then no one remembered this promise anymore. Breakfast took over 30 minutes to be served. Construction works everywhere (they start at 7 am next to your window), very noisy (music on the rooftop until late night), stinky rubbish next to my window which made fresh air impossible during night.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. We had a private room for three people and it was very spacious. Fan rather than air conditioning but in January this was fine. Nice bar area outside and lots of tuk-tuks nearby.

Disliked: Here for three nights and rooms weren't cleaned once. I don't mind beds not being made etc but would like bins to be emptied. Especially in toile.. Not sure how long you'd have to stay for them to do this. I guess I could have asked though. Lots of hippy tourists playing loud music. Although some will enjoy this. Wouldn't recommend to my friends but many will find this place ok if this doesn't bother you.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The sunset bar is this places only redeeming feature. The food is tasty and very reasonably priced, and the staff in this area actually seem to have a clue what they're doing.

Disliked: Holes in the ceilings and general disrepair to the whole place. They played loud music until 2am. When you're planning on getting up at 5am to go to Ankor Wat this is an absolute farce. The dorms have only one key for all guests. As a result it gets left in the slot which provides the electrics and the door is constantly left open. As each bed does NOT have its own power socket, you are forced to abandon your valuables at random power points, which means at any point in the night someone could walk in and steal your stuff! Ridiculous! The lockers have abnormally large hoops, meaning most people are forced to get a padlock from reception to fit.We were assured there would be someone available at 4:30am to take orders for sandwiches for Ankor Wat and we were really impressed by this as we had gone to order the night before. When we got up at 4am just to order our sandwiches before our Tuk Tuk came it turned out to be a total lie. We found a member of staff at the desk and asked what was going on, he simply looked at us as if we were idiots and said 'Food when the chef gets here but I don't know wher that will be'. Helpful! We left after 5 and still no one had appeared.We bought a padlock from reception and as per the signs in reception I requested a receipt. I was told I didn't need one. Later that day a member of staff chased me halfway to my room and accused me of stealing my padlock. He demanded my receipt and obviously I didn't have one, so I had to return to reception and point out the man who had refused to give me one. We gave in our laundry and were told it would be 24 hours. 24 hours later no laundry, and no explanation except a shrug. No apology. And when we DID get our laundry another 24 hours later we were accused AGAIN of not paying for it even though I had the receipt and there was another receipt IN THE BAG WITH THE WASHING which he had just handed to us which clearly said paid!!! All in all the reception staff are utterly unhelpful and the rooms are pathetic. We moved down the road for the same price to a private room which was far superior.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location easy walking distance to pub street, sunset bar is a cool place to hang out, air con in the rooms is really good.

Disliked: Some staff need a serious attitude adjustment. Which is a shame because a few of them are really nice and helpful, but they get overshadowed by the down right rudeness of the rest of them. It's funny that they should go to such lengths to look smart with matching shirts and trousers when they don't bother to sort out the rude attitude problems some of them have. In my first room the toilets never once got cleaned, I watched the cleaners just walk in and out again on several occasions, it got to the point where there was sand everywhere around the whole room from outside and you had to wear shoes in the toilet it was so gross, there was a dead cockroach sitting there for god knows how long and just general rubbish on every surface, I complained to reception in which they said they would get someone to clean it, I returned later that day to the exact same state, all that had gone was the cockroach. I had to move rooms during my stay and the next room was cleaner but from no help from the actual cleaners, we were just lucky not to have sand and messy people in the room. At one point no one has the air con remote and the air con wasn't on, so we asked reception and this EXTREMELY rude member of staff basically told us we were lying and the remote was in the room, when I said we had all searched everywhere she cut me off and got even ruder telling me it was there and basically couldn't be bothered to deal with me any longer, later in the day a guy from the room asked another member of staff and they kindly went and got the remote from BEHIND RECEPTION! So the rude cow had actually been wrong the whole time and even if she hadn't she needed a slap in the face and some manners taught to her. We also had an issue where they padlocked our stuff into some lockers whilst we were out as we had not paid for the next night yet, I have never ever been to a hostel so strict that they can't be bothered to clean you room but will go to the effort to empty your bed of things and padlock them into a locker. I felt like it was more to prove a point than anything else as they knew we weren't going anywhere anytime soon, I've been travelling for 11months now and have never been to a hostel so trick on payment, you need to ease up a little. Funnily enough I probably would stay again because the travellers that come to this hostel create the best atmosphere, but the staff and cleaners need to sort it out!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, very sociable with a good bar and restaurant.

Disliked: Sometimes a little unclean in the bathroom, but for the price you pay it is of a reasonable standard.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: X

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location, nice atmosphere, wide range of rooms

Disliked: well, not that clean hostel, but for this price is completely acceptable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability