Website feedback

Reviews of Riverside Backpackers Phnom Penh Hostel

17 st 144 Riverside, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 84%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phnom Penh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 84%

Safety 86%

Staff 94%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Good hot shared shower

Disliked: Food

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful and were able to book bus tickets for me and give my advice on other places to visit...special mention to one of the staff members Bow. I did have a leak in my room from the rain which had got fixed before but still a problem, however the staff changed my room with no problem and Hamish one of the owners gave me a free cup of coffee the following morning and apologized.

Disliked: Room with no window but I knew this before booking.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The owner was very nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is ideal, right next to the river, lots of restaurants and bars but not noisy at all. We had a 2 double bed room which was huge as is the bathroom. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: We had a power cut in the evening and the next morning, but it was the whole city, so nothing to do with the hostel. The room and bathroom were a bit dated, but perfectly functional.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is in a really good location, central and right on the riverside but the street itself is far enough away from any noise of the surrounding streets that had lots of pubs. The staff, including the owner Hamish, were really lovely and always happy to help. Tuk tuk drivers are right outside the hostel and can be negotiated to give you a reasonable price to the sites in Phnom Penh and the airport. The Velkommen guesthouse across the road does really good food, as does a restaurant down the street with pretty good prices. The room was really decent and the hostel has shutters pulled down at night which we found good because otherwise, it wouldn't feel as safe. All in all, would definitely recommend a stay here.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were fantastic. Friendly, helpful and always asking how you're doing.They do some decent breakfasts, though you do pay for this separately. It is literally right next to the riverside and a few minutes walk to the night market.

Disliked: Not much to be honest. There was an incident with water leaking from the sink next door into my bedroom, however, the owner had warned me about this before he would let me agree to staying. It was very honest. It's basic but was just what I was looking for. If you want something less basic, they have the guesthouse opposite.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The owner and staff were really helpful when I ran into some issues. The hostel is located near the river, and the night market.

Disliked: Although it wasn't the hostel's fault, the construction going on in front of the hostel was slightly troublesome. It would've been good if they had indicated that in their profile.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice place to relax- cusromer focussed

Disliked: Room at third level was very hot due to exhaust fans inoperative

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely clean and managed

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating


19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was definitely value for money. The bathroom was spacious.

Disliked: The location next to the wet market. I was told by one of the staff that they cleaned the room only when the guest left the guesthouse and not during their stay!. I was happy that my stay was only for 3 days. My room was really dirty at the end of the stay.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability