Website feedback

Reviews of Nightingale Hostel and Guesthouse Sofia Hostel

8, Budapeshta Str, Sofia, Bulgaria

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 77%

Location 91%

Safety 78%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar APM-96
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

If you booked our hostel for the cheaper non-refundable rate we will send you our account details after your booking via email, that you can transfer the remaining amount.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sofia?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 77%

Location 91%

Safety 78%

Staff 82%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Great staff. One day we were offered pancakes for breakfast. Quite location.

Disliked: Seems to be a party every night at the common area which stays dirty all day. Dorm could use some sweeping.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: friendly, helpfull,

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The propriety is very hospitality, present for all problems, and he spent all time in order to create a good athmosphere between people.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Central location, and Julian from Brazil, who took care of the check in at the time we arrived. He was the one to make up for all the stuff the owner was not able of. Therefore thumps up!

Disliked: We had to collect our own bedding from the staff and laundry room to set up our beds and it was somehow cold. The owner himself was quite entertaining to some extent as he kept dancing with the 2l beer bottle in the common area, but would announce some lets call it interesting points of view.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating


29 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good place to meet people.

Disliked: My friend had his clothes urinated on by someone in our room, Also upon checking out i gave him the key but he would not give my $20 deposit back, when I asked why he basically had no answer and told me no. There are plenty of other nicer hostels in Sofia, certainly would never stay at this place again.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff and guests very nice!

Disliked: The building needs some renovation

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Mark the hostel manager, very helpful, dinner and breakfast excellent

Disliked: Smell of cigarette smoke at the outside entrance.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Cheap, good location, safe

Disliked: Bedding could be better. Everything else was fine

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was close to the centre of town.

Disliked: We had to wait 15mins before anyone opened the door. The guy was out shopping. We booked a pickup from the airport and no one showed up. We were given a number to ring and the person was nothing to do with the Hostel. The guy at reception said he has no idea what's going on and just here to take our money. Is was not welcoming at all. The room looked like it was used by tramps off the street and smelt awful. No place to secure any valuables or bags. The fridge was mouldy on the inside. The beds were dirty. Hands down the worst hostel I have ever been too. If you are a single traveller I really would not advise staying here. We found another Hostel down the road which is friendly, helpful, and clean. We picked the Hostel because of the airport transfer and the ratings on Hostel bookers (the ratings are definitely made up).

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: the beds are comfortable.

Disliked: cold, guy trying to save on electric bill. Kitched for breakfeast is small. common room small. toilets small. well what can I say , don't stay at this hostel. toilets are gross and tiny, a converted apt house to make into a hostel. rooms are comfortable but it is run by some crazy old guy says he's from Luxembourg and listens to rock music all day. Name is Mark total crazy case that tries to push you around. Don't know if still here but anyone who would let this guy act and push people around the way he does doesn't deserve a penny. Common area quite small and right in front of receptionist. Control case. Place is deserted during the week with a couple people on the weekends. I guess people are smarter than me when it comes to choosing hostelsIf you like being pushed around by a nut who somehow thinks because of his issues he is doing you a favor then this is the hostel for you.You've always wondered about when your bad hostel experience will come well this is it I think. Go somewhere where the receptionist is happy not confused and personal issues. Just a loser that you don't want to be in life. Period. By the way the 4 100% reviews were given by the same person above.


The property's response is

common area is small and not conducive to relaxing. Toilets are horrible and will make you want to check out as soon as go in.

Check Availability