Website feedback

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador Salvador Hostel

Av. Ocenica 84 B, Barra Beach, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 92%

Safety 79%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:
Any bookings with dates within New Years 2010 (mandatory 4 nights package - 28/12-01/01) & Carnaval 2010 (mandatory 6 nights package 11/02/-17/02).
Full prepayment is needed in order to warranty the booking, after booking the Hostel will contact you for the prepayment details. Failure to prepay the booking will result
In the booking being cancelled.Not allowed under 18

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 72%

Location 92%

Safety 79%

Staff 74%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good breackfast

Disliked: Dirty, bed bugs, broken fourniture

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, nice staff and a cool rooftop bar.

Disliked: n\\a

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, helpful and friendly staff, nice to be by the beach. Breakfast was pretty good (fruit, bread, coffee, cake) and I felt that my possessions were safe. Rooms were pretty hot, but it´s Brazil!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The price is too high for what they offer. This was my 3rd hostel in Salvador. I stayed before in Hostel Galerie 13 and Barra Guest Hostel. Both charge 10 Reais less for a dorm bed. And they are much nicer.I booked a 6bed dorm and I got a 6 bed dorm which was actually a railroad room to another dorm with 8 beds, so actually this was a 14 bed dorm. The bathroom with washbasin was completly broken in our room so we needed to go to the other room for washing our hands or brush or teeth. This hostel does not offer smtg special compared to other good hostels in Salvador, so we should i pay more money. Compared to other Che Legartos this hostel is not good. It is needs a totally renovation.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was planning to stay for 3 days and I finally extended it to 6! Big house great located in front of the beach, amazing views of the sea from the bar-terrace on the top floor. Very nice staff, helpful and very friendly too :-)It was a very confortable place, safe and secure. Near the shopping center, restaurants, bars, laundry, bus stop, Barra Faro.They have a bar in the top floor, managed by a very friendly and busy boy, deck chairs, billiard table, beautiful sunset views.I had a very nice and relaxing time there; I will sure go back if visiting Salvador again!

Disliked: Nothing :-)

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location-right opposite the beach.

Disliked: There were bed bugs.There was never any drinking water to buy.The showers were sometimes cold.The security guard Joseval was extremely unhelpful when our airport taxi did not turn up on time.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is really great, it's in front of the beach, near to bus stations and shopping mall; the breakfast is nice!

Disliked: There is a kind of service fee that it was not described in HostelBookers yet; the staff was helpful when I told them about it, i wasn't obligated to pay the fee for using some services like wireless and others. Besides the dorm is not as confortable as i thought.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: it-s clean, the place is awsome, and tjhe music too....

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Locations is great, good atmosphere and a nice view of the sea. The mezzanino offers a pleasant spot to relax. The sttaf is good and they do their best, nothing to complain about them...

Disliked: The bathroom in the dorms needs urgent improvement...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's near the beach. Good quality price.

Disliked: You must pay for the wifi and for use the kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability