Website feedback

Reviews of Nega Maluca Guesthouse Salvador Hostel

Rua dos Marchantes 15, Santo Antonio/Pelourinho, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar APM-96
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Note: All doubles are air conditioned as are the 8 bed mixed dorms + 1 10 bed dorm. We have left 1 dorm room with fans to give an option to those who are not fond of air con. Or want a more economical option.

Last note. Promise: Payment in the hostel is in cash only. We do not accept any credit card.

Reservations of beds in a dorm does not require any payment in advanced. For private bedrooms, since we have only three, must be done a payment in advance of 1 night.

Please note: When it says here on the site 12 bed dorm it means 12 hammocks on our covered roof!!! Please be aware

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2018

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Balcony and hammocks are nice!

Disliked: What comes next is my personal opinion, means, it is very subjective. I´m saying that because I don´t want to cause any harm, just presenting my honest point of view. I was there for Carneval, so it was expensive. The stuff there wasn´t really nice, I felt kinda unconfortable. The fotos are not like it really is. The bathroom had no light when I was there and it was quite dirty, the corridor smelled bad. I just didn´t feel the vibes. It´s not the worst hostel, for sure, but I wouldn´t recommend it either.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


27 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Feels like being home with friends!! Super friendly and very helpful staff, nice breakfast and comfortable outside area.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was solid. Outlets for every do bed was a nice touch.

Disliked: All the staff except Gustavo seemed pretty clueless. It was hard to get a straight answer to any question from them.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is very good, just 5 mins away from the historical center. Also, staff is incredibly helpful! Even though the hostel itself was not comfortable at all, staff did everything they could to make it up for us.

Disliked: It was one of the dirtiest hostels i've ever stayed in. We couldn't sit on the couch, because of cat hair and dog was horribly stinky! Toilets smelled urine all the time and dorms were dusty and damp.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very helpful staff and good internet connection. Nice balcony to chill out with a few beers.

Disliked: The mattresses need changing/cleaning as they smelled very bad.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Two hammocks on the roof.Very nice and helpfull staff.Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The beds where old and was not too good to sleep there.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staff, really good breakfast. located in the middle of the old part of salvador

Disliked: quite hard to find without a local taxi driver

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, terace

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, short walk to Pelourinho, comfortable terrace and chill out areas with hammocks, fantastic included breakfast (fruit, bread, baloney, cheese, tomato, cucumber, coffee, tea, spreads/jams, juice, and alternating hot dishes of pancakes, doughnuts, eggs, banana cake), cheapest room with fan has lots of space and windows for fresh air, attracts good backpacker crowd and has a great vibe.

Disliked: Only three showers/bathrooms for the whole hostel, so sometimes need to wait your turn.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice breakfast

Disliked: the safer is too small

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability