Website feedback

Reviews of Open House Barra Salvador Hostel

Bernardo Catarino 137 Barra, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

*** Special Event Booking for: CARNIVAL SEASON *** Dates from Feb 11/2015 to Feb 20/2015 *** Conditions: a minimum of seven nights is required. *** Payment policy for Carnival Season: Any booking containing Carnival season dates require and additional 50% deposit [of the balance] to be made directly to the property. After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com, You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 48 hours will result in cancellation of your booking. Remaining balance shall be paid 30 days prior season start. Failure to complete the balance payment on time will result in cancellation of your booking. *** Cancellation Policy: There is no refund policy for deposits made in advance.

SPECIAL SEASONS
The same conditions for Carnival bookings and payments apply to other
special seasons as New Year eve season (Dic28 - Ene1) and World Cups (Jun
2013/2014)


RESERVATION POLICY
A minimum stay of two nights is required to accept a booking. We have no
cancellation policy, booking deposits made to us are non-refundable.
Bookings are considered as a whole, so cancelling or changing part of your
booking dates means a cancellation of the entire booking. Due to changes
in Paypal policy and procedures, momentarily balance payments at checkin
must be paid in cash. New Year Eve and Carnival season balances due 15
days prior arriving date, failing to cancel these balances on time will be
understand as a -no show-. Bookings including more than five nights-room
require an additional deposit of half of the extra nights booked to be
accepted, made directly to Open House. We do not accept bookings from
guests who already had canceled or changed their bookings with us, or had
no-shows.
Bookings are non transferable neither fractional. When involving a group,
partial or individual payments for a due balance are not accepted, so full
balance shall be paid for a member of the group have access to the
accommodation. Booking including minors will not be accepted unless the
guest contact us first for room for kids availability. Our
checkin/checkout is flexible although arrivals before 8am and departures
after 8pm will trigger an extra charge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Showing 31-38 of 38 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating


07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was calm with very friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere, a mix of young and old people staying there. The day we checked out and took the late night bus they let us keep the room until we left in the evening. Alex was really helpfull and also got us caipirihnas for free!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A warm and colorful place. We met local artists and learned how to dance samba. Alex and Jackie are great hosts, offering free drinks and guidance. We've also enjoyed the super delicious breakfast and the perfect location with calm beaches lightened all night.

Disliked: everything was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating


03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The house is painted, everywhere! There you can feel like home. And for many people is the breakfast really important, I know! And this was the best that I`ve ever seen in Hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We thought the house was very lovely, and decorated very nicely too. Our stay was great and Alex makes the best Caipirinhas. The room was lovely, much nicer then we expected. If you don't mind spending a bit extra then this is worth it. The area is Barra and only a 5 min walk from the beach. Breakfast is also very good, with a fresh juice every day, coffee, tea, fresh fruit and a hot choice of pancakes or eggs, or omelette.

Disliked: nothing really, probably just a little bit more then I usually pay for a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Definitely a next-generation hostel which recognizes the value of friendly service and clean facilities.

Disliked: Everything was fine

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beyond all expectations! Excellent, excellent and excellent again.Much more than a hostel, this place is one of kind, colourful, enchanting,we felt so good. We were hosted by artists, beautiful peoplewho give this place a soul. The breakfast was so amazing,the music superb, the artwork impressive, and the caipirinhas!the best we've ever had (by far). We were also interviewed for a documentary they are producingcalled Future is Female. There's a lovely beach 3minutes walking where they invited us for a picnic at night. We were so happy and comfortable that we stayed two more nights than expected.

Disliked: everything was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything!! It looks like a small tropical barrack, rooms, toilets and common areas are painted by the owner, who is an artist, with Bahian themes, the lounge samba-bossa nova music selection by Alex, her husband, is a major plus. The rooms are spacious, the service is personalised, great breakfast, quiet, friendly. I was travelling alone and had a great time there thanks to the atmosphere and Alex, who apart from proposing several great activities and sightseeing, took us also to a music-jam concert!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Without a doubt, it's the best place we have ever stayed. From the moment we arrived Alex and Jacqueline (the owners) were incredibly hospitable and really helpful in making sure we had a great time in Salvador. They gave us maps and directions to get around and told us about places to eat and things to do that you wouldn't ever be able to find in any of the guide books. We only got to stay there for four days and we were kind of wishing that it could have been way longer. The house itself is great too, and it's clear that they've put lots of work into getting it that way, they spent alot of time painting the whole place outside and in with much of their own artwork and that counts for the bedrooms too. They even had a little tv room with a DVD player for whenever you wanted to just chill out in the house and a large collection of films if the weather wasn't too great. On top of that the atmosphere was amazing and it was a great place to meet other travelers Apart from that the location is also most excellent. Turn left out of the House you've got a supermarket where you can buy loads of stuff to cook in the kitchen, loads of reasonably priced restaurants and two minutes away is one of the nicest beaches in Salvador and lots of Bus links to take you up and down the cost and to/from the airport.In all honesty, I don't even think a review on here can do it justice. Just hope we can come back sometime soon.

Disliked: Nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability