Website feedback

Reviews of Open House Barra Salvador Hostel

Bernardo Catarino 137 Barra, Salvador, Brazil

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

*** Special Event Booking for: CARNIVAL SEASON *** Dates from Feb 11/2015 to Feb 20/2015 *** Conditions: a minimum of seven nights is required. *** Payment policy for Carnival Season: Any booking containing Carnival season dates require and additional 50% deposit [of the balance] to be made directly to the property. After your booking is confirmed by hostelworld.com, You will be contacted to proceed and arrange the payment method. Failure to complete the payment in 48 hours will result in cancellation of your booking. Remaining balance shall be paid 30 days prior season start. Failure to complete the balance payment on time will result in cancellation of your booking. *** Cancellation Policy: There is no refund policy for deposits made in advance.

SPECIAL SEASONS
The same conditions for Carnival bookings and payments apply to other
special seasons as New Year eve season (Dic28 - Ene1) and World Cups (Jun
2013/2014)


RESERVATION POLICY
A minimum stay of two nights is required to accept a booking. We have no
cancellation policy, booking deposits made to us are non-refundable.
Bookings are considered as a whole, so cancelling or changing part of your
booking dates means a cancellation of the entire booking. Due to changes
in Paypal policy and procedures, momentarily balance payments at checkin
must be paid in cash. New Year Eve and Carnival season balances due 15
days prior arriving date, failing to cancel these balances on time will be
understand as a -no show-. Bookings including more than five nights-room
require an additional deposit of half of the extra nights booked to be
accepted, made directly to Open House. We do not accept bookings from
guests who already had canceled or changed their bookings with us, or had
no-shows.
Bookings are non transferable neither fractional. When involving a group,
partial or individual payments for a due balance are not accepted, so full
balance shall be paid for a member of the group have access to the
accommodation. Booking including minors will not be accepted unless the
guest contact us first for room for kids availability. Our
checkin/checkout is flexible although arrivals before 8am and departures
after 8pm will trigger an extra charge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salvador?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 94%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 91%

Showing 21-30 of 38 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a really nice hostel with a great atmosphere and really nice paintings everywhere. There are always some activities at night, capoeira lessons, samba lessons, the owner makes some caipirinhas for free. The owner is really nice and really helpful!

Disliked: If you hope to visit and enjoy the pelourinho, maybe it's not the right place to stay because you have to take a bus or a taxi to go there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay mainly because the lovely owners who looked after us, guided throw the city very well and prepared delicious capirinas. Cool lounge areas, with tons of books, videos and music. The room was well decorated as the rest of the house with very fast internet connection. This place is highly recommendable.

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So colorful!!!!!! I loved the ambience. the music was awesome . Even though there were few guests at the house I had a great time. The breakfast is the best I ever had in a hostel, the pancakes were sooooooo delicious. Perfect location to move around the city and take a swim at night. I loved Salvador and I loved this place!

Disliked: /

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cannot fault this place, great huge breakfast, 4 blocks from a nice protected beach, great artwork on the walls. The owner Alex even took me out to a local jazz concert overlooking the ocean, magic night. Lots of common areas, soft music adds to the atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Alex and the rest of the crew! Thanks so much for all the hospitality and your help! Alex took us out to a jam session on Saturday night which was fun! He also mad caipirnhas every night on the house which were delicious! Even gave us pizza when we were watching movies because as he says you can't watch movies without pizza! The breakfast is also delicious!! And the property itself is really cool as all the artwork has been done by his wife and it's amazing! Heaps of chill out room as well! Thankyou so much for taking care of us!

Disliked: Nothing!!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very charming decor (art created by one of the owners), nice breakfast with spice pancakes, relaxing tv room, friendly owner.

Disliked: Disappointed that when shifting my reservation, I lost my booking deposit. Also wished they´d mentioned a tip was expected for the capoeira class...they made it sound like it was included.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The warm-hearted hosts created a feeling of being very welcome. We even did a Samba workshop in the hostel with caipirinha and they gave us good tips any time. We´re really going to miss you, Alex and Jaqueline and your beautiful Salvador de Bahia!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: we booked this place beacuse the colorful and artistic ambience. Since we are on a low budget we chose a "budget" private room and were surprised when entered the room, small but with a large terrace, bingo!!! lovely place. Another big surprise was the huge breakfast with fresh fruits and pancakes wooohoo!!! We didn't have much time so we ask information and the owners spent like an hour with us recommending places and things to do. they are interesting people. good feeling when the place you stay in is above your expectations. Sweeeeeet hostel

Disliked: //

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Wonderful hosts and wonderful stay in a beautiful/colorful place.

Disliked: ..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Highly recommendable. Happy to find out that all excellent reviews about Open House were true. This place is certainly one of a kind. The people who work there make you feel very comfortable,actually I decided to stay longer. Breakfast is superb!!!!!!!! samba classes are so much fun, internet is free, location is perfect and safe near the beach. Alex and Jaqueline also arranged tours and invited me to a concert. It's being a perfect stay.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability